Row80 Oct 22nd

zionpicThis pictures comes from the Weeping Rock of Zion National Park. Those colors are all nature’s doing. There’s also a lovely bit of water being “wept” out of the rock. It’s an easy hike, though a bit steep, and very well worth it. Beautiful colors everywhere in Zion.

THE GOALS

All right, a week has passed since I jumped in on Row80. What have I accomplished thus far?

Finish outlining Book 2. Progress. I think I’m close on this one, though I’ve realized it may be a bit of an ongoing goal as I sometimes have to stop and ponder and outline another scene when it’s giving me a lot of trouble. This book has been a struggle, but I think that just means it’ll be even better because it was so hard to get out.

Read “The Fire in Fiction” and one fiction book. Progress. I started “The Fire in Fiction” and put “Ask the Passengers” and “What Happened to Goodbye” on my Kindle. Hopefully I’ll have a lot more progress to report next week.

Rework Book 2. Progress. The outlining wasn’t exactly finished, but I felt like I needed to write anyway and so I did. I have a new start to the book which I think is a lot better. A member of my writing group thought my original first chapter seemed like a bunch of exposition and I decided he was right. This should be a little more exciting, plus I have opportunity to do a little foreshadowing and build in some other subplots. It feels like this round of rewrites will be very productive.

BONUS GOALS: # 1 Write at least one short story. No new progress. Although it is a bonus goal, so whatevs.

#2 Do further plotting for Codename Clemmings. No new progress.

Things are coming along. Again I do appreciate Row80 for making me feel obligated to report something each week. I may try the dreaded getting up early and writing before work. It benefited my last book quite a lot, but the early is tough. We’ll see.

How are you doing on your goals whether for Row80 or personal? When you write, do you have to stop and brainstorm or do you just keep on writing until something comes out? Have you ever had a piece you struggled with and what did you do to overcome the struggle?

9 thoughts on “Row80 Oct 22nd

  1. You’ve made excellent progress πŸ™‚ I’m glad you’ve found a new beginning, one you’re happy with – I love it when that happens! In answer to your questions, in the first instance I write and let it all come out. I rarely get stuck at this point, and it’s usually so terrible I know I’m going to cringe when I start my first edit! When I go back through and delete/add/adjust I do get stuck at that point. I generally step away from it for a while, because it’s always percolating and so I let it brew!

    • I used to be able to do that, but I went through a period of heavy revising, and now I have to pause when I get stuck instead of plowing on through. Oh well, change and adapt I suppose. But I do know what you mean about stepping away from it for awhile. Always helpful. πŸ™‚

  2. I attended a writer’s workshop at the Sydney Writer’s Festival on plot which was given by a script writer and he talked about the hero’s journey and mentioned a book by Joseph Campbell. I read the first chapter and felt inspired and went and wrote something and haven’t got back to it. I went to an author talk with the author of the Rosie Project last week and he had done a script writing course and mentioned that script writers write the scenes and then put them together on the floor which he said wasn’t very romantic but it sounded like a good idea to me.
    I’ve managed some good posts on my blog but am struggling with my books. I haven’t been all that well and so exhausted. It’s made it hard to get on with my writing. xx Rowena

    • I like Joseph Campbell’s book, but I think Robert McKee’s “Story” is exponentially more helpful. I should give it another read. It helps with building in tension in plot. I highly recommend it.

      I’m sorry you’re struggling with your book though. I hate those periods of time. But I guess feeling unwell would do it. Get some vitamins and rest in ya and hopefully you can get back to it. πŸ™‚

  3. Looks like you are doing great! I’m doing fine so far this week, but as I write this I have finished my 2 days off from writing and only had 1 writing work day. So, it isn’t hard to be doing well. πŸ˜‰

    When I struggle with a piece I usually think it is because I’m having problems doing it justice due to lack of skill or lack of actual [plot/character development/story problem]. I always step away from it and work on something else. Sometimes thinking about something else lets the right stuff come to the surface. Other times the idea ends up abandoned because I can’t solve my issue, but I’m already working on something else, so I feel productive.

    • Recently I found writing (well, basically a rough outline) of the perspective of one of the other characters helps me open up what I really want to accomplish in the scene. I did that with a secondary character to see what she was feeling and thinking and it really helped. But stepping away is also a good thing too.

      I’ll have to head over to your blog in a sec. πŸ˜€

  4. ” I think that just means it’ll be even better because it was so hard to get out.” I’m so hoping this is true because my current WIP is kicking my arse. *sigh*

What are your thoughts?

