Row80 Oct 15th

grandcanyonjaeOnce upon a Row80 I would post Fall pictures. I may do that again, but I figured a few pics from the travels for a time sounded more interesting. This is that Grand Canyon everyone talks about. And that there is the Colorado River. Honestly, if I took a laptop and a chair out to the rim of the GC, I think I could get a lot of writing done. There was so much serenity for me in that scenery.

But I liked each of the three siblings of the Claron formation (Grand Canyon, Zion, Bryce Canyon). They all have their own appeal and beauty. This photo, by the way, taken with my Samsung. Camera phones are getting awesome.

THE GOALS

Seems like goals are the only way to get things done for me these days. That and having some accountability for them. Thank you for that Row80. Anyway, here are the goals I’m jumping in on this round with.

Finish outlining Book 2. I wrote a version of Book 2 of my SHADE series last NaNo, but a little while after I finished I decided the book needed to be split in two. Not my favorite decision by far, but a good one nonetheless. So Book 2 needs some major upgrading, and I’m outlining before I hit the ground running. It’s just how I roll, being a mostly plotter.

Read “The Fire in Fiction” and one fiction book. No ideas what this one will be. I’ve got a long list waiting on me though, so it may be according to what’s available at the library first.

Rework Book 2. This comes after the outlining has finished. I’ve been looking forward to this for some time.

BONUS GOALS: # 1 Write at least one short story. This may be a little ambitious of me. We’ll see.

#2 Do further plotting for Codename Clemmings. I’ve spoken about this project before. I feel like it’s a strong story, but originally I’d only plotted for a short novella. I think this needs to go novel, and I had a fluid plot in the early summer, but it’s been on the shelf since then. This is what I’ll do if I need a break from Book 2.

Those be the goals for now. I just need to get back to writing, either way. I’m hoping The Fire in Fiction will help with that. I never finished reading all the Anton Chekhov short stories either. If only we had more time. Or a TARDIS. Or both.

What are your goals? How are you coming along on them? Why do you participate in Row80? If you don’t participate, do you set yourself goals to accomplish in your life or writing? Feel free to add your thoughts or advice below.

15 thoughts on “Row80 Oct 15th

  1. Awesome pic there Jae – I love virtually visiting places that I’ll never get to. As to goals I never keep to them, they don’t seem important. Still I have novel #4 launching in November so I get there in time. Nice to see you back.

  2. The reason I started doing ROW80 was because I had quit smoking and lost every bit of writing discipline I had developed during my habit. I used it to rebuild myself as a writer. Now, I continue in ROW80 as a “business plan” of sorts. It is to keep myself on track rather than falling to laziness. I might not make goals, but at least I have direction. Also it is a good way to make myself accountable for good habits like exercising and reading.

    • For me I think it’s better to set goals and fail at trying for them than just to wallow in my nothingness. I’d rather have tried for something than accomplished nothing because I didn’t bother. I’m fairly certain it’s you I have to thank for getting me into Row80, or at least keeping me motivated to try Row80 again and again. πŸ™‚

      • I agree that trying is so much better than not even trying. But you always accomplish something, even if it isn’t what you intended.

        I’m not sure if I should apologize or say “you’re welcome” for dragging you back in! I guess we’ll see which it is at the end of the round. πŸ˜‰

  3. It’s great to meet you πŸ™‚ This is my first round, and I’m enjoying it so far. My goals aren’t quite as ambitious as yours, but right now I’m glad about that – I’m having a busy couple of weeks. I hope I can help to keep you motivated along the way. I’m also one of the sponsors and love to support other writers. I look forward to learning more about your work πŸ™‚

  4. Hey, I see you also put reading up as a goal. I don’t get that. I read too much. For me “not reading” would be a goal but if I fill it with other worthy goals then I naturally have less time to read. The accountability of RoW80 is very good to help with that.

    • Yep, it’s a time issue. I LOVE reading, but somehow I don’t find the time for it. I kind of give priority to the writing, but I know how important reading is, so I’m forcing myself to take some accountability to get it done. I’m sure once I start it’ll be a piece of cake. πŸ™‚

  5. I love that picture! And I agree: You can get a lot of writing done in an inspiring place with no distractions. My ROW80 is coming along, though I’ve underestimated the amount of studying I have to do for my MA this month. Ah well… as long as I keep writing! If you find a TARDIS somwhere, let her steal you and pick me up as well? Could do with more time! πŸ˜‰

  6. Great goals! And I love the picture. To your question, I like ROW80 for the accountability and companionship. Writing is such a solo thing, that it’s nice to connect to comrades in arms. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! I like Row80 for the same reasons. Besides, they say if you want to be successful in something, surround yourself with people working toward a similar goal. I think Row80 does that. πŸ™‚

What are your thoughts?

