A Valentine’s Message

Happy Valentine’s Day. I know my post is a little late in the day, but I heard something yesterday I wanted to share. An important message I’ve touched on before.

I used to celebrate Valentine’s Day as Single’s Awareness Day, but in recent years, I’ve given that junk up. Why?

Because nobody likes a grump. And you know what else? I don’t like being a grump. So in honor of Valentine’s Day, and coming from someone who is very aware of their singleness, I say to the haters.

Suck it up.

grumpyvalentine

12 thoughts on “A Valentine’s Message

  1. I like this attitude. My bf and I don’t really celebrate Valentine’s because neither of us really see it the point, but we just ignore it rather than whinge about how annoying it makes people (both single and attached). Our anniversary is January 23, which is close-by anyway and a more meaningful day.

  2. Plenty of roses, which are sold at a fair price unless you’re a loser and pay a fortune for a pre-prepared basket of stuff that looks good. I’m one that believes these gestures ought to be possible at any time of year.

    • I should hope they happen more than once a year. I’d personally be more interested in tulips, but if a boy gave me roses, I wouldn’t turn them down. 😉

  3. Even though I’m married, I don’t really celebrate this holiday, either. This year I spent the day at a writing conference with my fellows instead, which turned out to be a great way to celebrate love…the love of writing. 😉

What are your thoughts?

