Blog Chain Posts: The Revived

Alex tagged me in what she deems a “book meme” post and my first thought was: Oh yeah, the blog! Then my second thought was: Shoot, I need to put up a post!

And here you have it. A bunch of random questions to be answered by yours truly. Shall we begin?

How old are you?

What are you, the NSA?

What book are you reading?

The name escapes me, but it’s Book 2 in Sophie Jordan‘s Firelight series. Candlelight? Miller Lite? Anyways, I’m enjoying it. It’s an easy read about a girl who’s actually a dragon with romance. Ding!

What are you wearing?

Seriously, are you the NSA? But since you asked, my work out clothes. I worked out real good. And you’re probably glad blog posts don’t smell.

OTP?

(For the old people in the audience: this is short for One True Pairing, or your favourite couple from a story.)

Right now I’m going to have to go with Yoo-Kyung and Hyun-Wook from a Korean drama called Pasta. HW is arrogant as all get out, but I still find him charming somehow, even though I’d prefer YK gave Mr. Cactus a chance. Doesn’t anyone care about Mr. Cactus?! ANYoNe?!

Blogger or WordPress?

100% WordPress. I loathe Blogger. A lot. Google does a lot of things right, but this ain’t one of them. See my love spatter for WordPress here.

Going outside being active or staying in and reading a book?

Depends on the day. Did it snow recently? Then skiing. Is it -5 (that’s like -20C for all you C people)? Then probably a book and an electric blanket and some Stephen’s Mexican Cocoa. Am I in Hawaii? Then snorkeling off the shoreline. I guess the simplified answer is both.

What is the last book you read?

Before Miller Lite I was reading the Night Circus, which I found entertaining enough, then they switched tracks to another character and I decided to watch Korean dramas instead. One of these days I will attempt finishing it.

What is the book you’re going to read next?

Probably my own. I’ve been thinking about taking another look at this contemporary YA I wrote some time ago and upgrading the writing skill level on it.

Ebooks – yes or no?

100% yes. All you need is a proper e-reader and you’ll probably be hooked too. Carry 50 books with me at any time (probably more, but I’ve only got 50 on there)? Yes, please! Though there are times when I miss the traditional book, especially when it comes to reference books.

Where do you prefer to read?

Everywhere. I can read in a box. I can read with a fox. I can read it here or there. I can read it anywhere.

Who is the last person you tweeted?

Gloria. We have this show called Boys Before Friends that we love making fun of. It’s a show you can love to hate. (Note: This is not Boys Over Flowers with LMH nor Hana Yori Dango with Jun. Not even close. Not even by a smidgen. In fact, don’t want the one we make fun of unless you’ve seen the Japanese and Korean versions first).

Whose blog did you look at last?

The Matt Walsh blog. A lot of my friends link there from the Facebook.

Who is your favourite blogger?

Probably the Oatmeal, but if we’re talking people I visit regularly…. Hmmm…. that’s tough, probably Rarasaur’s blog.

Who is your favourite booktuber?

Booktubing? Really? *gone Googling*

What do you do when someone tells you reading is boring?

I tell them sometime they are boring, but I keep listening in hopes of better conversation. 😉 Okay, I’m kidding. I usually roll my eyes and search for someone more interesting to talk to. And if we’re being honest, I don’t hear that very often.

Who is the last author you spoke to?

In person? Maybe Josi Kilpack. But you all are authors to me and we communicate on a fairly regular basis.

Who is the last person you texted?

The BFF. I wanted to tell her to get on Facebook and check out the feels-epic videos they did of our timeline. I also got a story about this dude she went on a date with who was rude the whole time and constantly fished for pity. Yeah, that will be the last date she goes on with him.

Who is your all-time favourite book character?

There’s so many. Fred and George from the HP series. Dagny from Atlas Shrugged. Meg from A Wrinkle in Time. All-time fav though? Probably the Hen from The Stinky Cheese Man and Other Fairly Stupid Tales.

UKYA or USYA?

I mostly read WHATEVERSGOODYA. I don’t have a preference for one or the other. The UK produces good stuff. America produces good stuff. I judge the book by the content of its pages not by the country of its origin.

What is your preferred drink whilst reading?

Stephen’s Mexican Cocoa. That or a Raspberry Coke, but like many I’m trying to avoid the diabetes.

If you hated reading, what would you be doing instead?

Watching Korean dramas, laughing with Gloria over awful didn’t-know-what-they-were-doing remakes of good Asian dramas, making a pizza.

How many bookshelves / bookcases do you have?

Two bookcases in my current place, though my parents still have a whole bookcase full of books. I promise them once I own a place all the books can come live with me.

If you had the choice to meet all of your favourite book bloggers or all of your favourite authors, which would you pick?

I don’t know. Sometimes well-known authors are a bit, well, snobbish to the commoners. I think I would have more fun getting together with all my blogging buddies at a writing conference. You know we’d dominate the panels. DOMINATE!

Insta-love: yes or no?

Nope. Insta-lust? Sure. But how can you look at someone you’ve never met and say you love them? I guess we need more words in English. At least ancient Greek has four of them, right? Philia, okay, but Agape? Already?

Favourite author?

C.S. Lewis. Madeleine L’Engle in a close second, and if we’re being honest, J.K. Rowling because Harry Potter.

What is the number-one book on your wishlist?

The final book in the Kingkiller Chronicles by Patrick Rothfuss. Not because I think it’s the bestest ever, but just because I want to know what happens to Kvothe next.

Do you prefer books with female or male protagonists?

Both. Though I tend to lean more female and all my future story ideas are all female protags. I tend to hope the author of any book chose the gender because they felt it would be the best choice for that story. I think that typically tends to be the case. But at the end of the day, both.

Which is your favourite book-to-film adaption?

Since film is a completely different medium and I hate the comparison, I just wanted to throw that up there as a preface. But since you asked, I felt like Stardust did a better job on-screen then in book (sorry Neil). And if we’re going to have a film honor the essence of a book I’d say Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. Very well done.

What is the last song you listened to?

Y Te Vas by Motel. I usually put on Latino Rock when I’m doing other things. But I really love this Korean song I came across the other day.

 

Which do you enjoy reading more – negative reviews or positive reviews?

George Takei reviews. Seriously, you need to check these out on Amazon. You won’t be disappointed.

Who are you going to tag?

Gloria, because I mentioned her so much, Kate, because there’s a 60% chance she’ll want to do this, and Daphne, because there’s an 80% chance she’ll want to do it.

What about you? What are your answers to some of these questions? Anything you agree with?

18 thoughts on “Blog Chain Posts: The Revived

  1. Thank you for the guide for old people – sometimes I feel I’m barely keeping up 🙂 Here’s a NF book recommendation, one I reviewed recently and which has a few people jumping up and down angrily – ‘The Dark Horse Speaks’ by Little White Bird.

  2. It WAS an unusual set of questions for a chain post…
    “a girl who’s actually a dragon with romance” Yes, please!
    Doctor Seuss!!
    Raspberry Coke? What is this wizardry?
    Woop, Stardust! I can’t believe I forgot that. When people ask me questions like ‘best book-to-screen’ my mind goes blank. I guess perhaps because a lot of the recent b-to-s s have been of books I’ve not read, so I don’t think of others.

    • Raspberry Coke you have to make yourself. I usually do about a tablespoon or so of raspberry flavoring to a 12 oz Coke (I think that’s the 355mL size). It’s the flavoring they use for coffee or Italian sodas. 100% better than any flavored Coke you’ve ever tasted. Mmm mmm good.

      Yeah, you should check out Firelight. I’m sure you’d love it. It’s nothing award winning, but a fun read. 😀

      • Oh, really? *plots* I’ve not seen raspberry flavouring around (don’t know if that’s more an American thing to have flavouring loose), but, then again, I’ve not been looking for it. Good idea, anyway!

        Will do. Sometimes I think the best novels are those which get overlooked for awards, though. 🙂

        • You might have to go to a specialty shop, I don’t know. These are at the grocery for me. Totally worth it though. You might be able to pull it off with a little raspberry gelatin mix, but I haven’t tried that. Flavoring is probably the better way. 😉

  3. This is awesome! I love your reading-answer. 🙂 I’m also curious about your book… I love YA! Of course when it comes to books, I love pretty much everything so perhaps I’m not the greatest judge.

    Thank you for the shout-out. The only thing better than being re-read is being regular read– that was a beautiful compliment to share. *hugs* 🙂

  4. Hi Jae! I’m glad to see that you found Night Circus entertaining, even if not entertaining enough to finish it. As you may remember, I wasn’t a fan, but I was definitely in the minority on that one.

What are your thoughts?

