Row80 and WIPpet November 27th

NaNo has been a ton of fun and I’ve got a lot accomplished thanks to it. I’m planning on scheduling some kind of project during November every year. The motivation is awesome! I’m fairly certain I’m going to hit 80,000 words today and once I do, I’m going to enter my words and call my NaNo won. Though the story likely won’t be finished, so I’ll keep going, though probably a little into December. Thanksgiving will likely keep me from doing much of anything the rest of November.

Besides, it’s free ski day at Jackson Hole resort on Friday. Hello! For free! This place normally costs $100/ticket. It is the #1 resort in the nation, after all. In fact, it recently kicked Deer Valley out of that spot, and I’m sure the DV is nones too happy. That’s where I have been skiing, since they give locals a sweet deal and it’s a great resort, and the BFF tends to get free passes there, so that’s where she wants to go.

Yeah, I’m ready for winter I think. Fall has been fairly decent this year, so if it snows, I’m ready. Just need to get my new tires, but don’t worry, friends, it should be this weekend.

Hope all of you celebrating Thanksgiving have a great holiday and for those that aren’t, hope your weekends are awesome just because! πŸ˜‰

THE GOALS

Finish line edits on SHADE. Achieved!

Read at least 2 new books. No new progress. I’m still a total slacker when it comes to mornings and train commuting still isn’t happening. Hopefully soon.

October NaNoWriMo Prep Work. Achieved!

NaNoWriMo Challenge. ACHIEVED! Just marching toward 80,000 now.

Edit/finish the short stories I do have. No new progress.

WIPpet Wednesday

Now let’s WIPpet good. Let’s say eleven lines about 7+2=9 pages from last we excerpted. A little reminder info: Ebon is Logan’s dog. Last week you got a snippet of when Logan’s aunt captured him. But what happens when someone tries to capture his aunt?

White light filled the carriage just before it tumbled to its side. The hands kept Logan attached to what was now half a carriage. The sides sizzled, glowing a little where they’d been cut. A few feet from the carriage stood an angel, its flaming sword drawn. Filled with new energy at the sight of it, Logan yanked against the last two hands still gripping him. The angel approached, raising its flaming sword.

β€œNo! Ebon!” he cried, kicking at the hands. The angel drew close enough Logan felt the heat from its sword. He covered his head, screaming for, β€œTeviel! Gentry! Please!” He waited for the sting of fire, but it never came. He chanced a peek at the angel and found it sheathing its sword. The angel crouched beside him and touched the corpse hands which squealed before shriveling into dust.

Logan scrambled back. β€œEbon, please! Get us out of here!”

Ebon climbed into Logan’s lap, whining. There was nothing he could do.

What do you think? Is the angel there to help or to hurt? Did you enjoy NaNo? Anything you would do differently next year?

29 thoughts on “Row80 and WIPpet November 27th

  1. Umm… help? TELL ME.

    I enjoyed NaNoWriMo. I’m not at 80,000 words yet, but it was nice to get as much done this month as I did. Now, my husband has been giving me the “really?” raised eyebrows since I announced my 50,000 words and I’m still insisting on my word count (horrors!), but I’m taking full advantage of my November work-time allowance until the last minute! Maybe my family will take this seriously if I start making some money at it… :/

    • I’ve heard it’s always your family that kind of says meh to an entertainment career, even if you are wildly successful. You’ll be like, “What did you think of my new book?” And they’ll be like, “Oh yeah, I should read that.” (-_-) But your friends believe in you! πŸ™‚

      He’ll be glad when suddenly the bills are getting paid. And they will someday soon. You’re a good writer, so pat yourself on the back. πŸ˜€

      • See, I’m so glad to have supportive friends. πŸ™‚

        He does a pretty darn good job paying the bills, but I’m sure some money for extras wouldn’t be anything he’d turn his nose up at… NEW TIRES, YESSSSSSS!

    • Thanks! The story is sooo close to being finished. I’m thinking it’ll be between 90-100K at the end. Probably will end up chopping scenes I worked hard on, but such is the way of things. πŸ˜‰ Hope you have a fabulous Thanksgiving!

  2. That is awesome Jae – you’re not cheating with writing just short words are you πŸ™‚ Although not writing at anything like that rate I’m finding that more words = story progressing = enjoying the process = more words.

    • I’ve really never had a problem with words. I’m probably more the type that crams too much into one book. That’s why I love my critique group. They tell me like it is and help me see which scenes are more just fun for me but not helpful to the story. Doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy writing them though, and cry a little when I have to kill those darlings. Aww… πŸ˜₯ Does that happen to you often?

      • I’m going to be much more critical with my present revision, try to take the good advice of you and others. That will include zapping sections that are just self-indulgence. No interest in a critique group though.

        • I like that you labeled them self-indulgence. So true. But hey, sometimes it’s helpful just to get it out. And sometimes having it written down somewhere solidifies the back story you don’t need to show everyone, yet I think also strengthens the main story because the idea is that fluid. I don’t know if that made any sense anywhere except in my head. πŸ˜›

  3. Always nice to see Achieved! after a goal. πŸ™‚ Good job.

    Nice excerpt. Poor Ebon, not being able to help. Dogs love to help. Of course, sometimes my dogs only *think* they’re helping. πŸ˜‰

    • I need to remember to write a few scenes where Ebon believes he’s “helping.” And thanks. I think I’m doing pretty well with goal achieving. Now that NaNo is over, the other goals will get some more attention. πŸ˜€

  4. Free ski day… Oh, my hubby would be all over that if he could. Enjoy! (and think more story ideas while you do… I mean, you’ve got to have something new to work on once you finish this draft, right?)

    Oh, and did you get tires? O.o?

    Logan really can’t catch a break, can he?

    • I was going to get tires over the weekend, but in my parents city I was not overly pleased with the options. I’ll probably just end up paying a little more here knowing that I’ll get the quality ones. I’m guessing these tires will be on the car for years to come. πŸ™‚

      Yeah, Logan doesn’t catch a break the whole book. Poor Logan. 😦

    • He’s a demon dog, but I always picture a scoodle (a scotty poodle). They’re super cute. My bro used to have one. It was too sad when they had to get rid of the cute thing. πŸ˜₯

  5. Can’t think of much relevant to say, but the extract looks good. Easy to read/fluid prose. Your first drafts always look so much more polished than mine (as odd/contradictory as that sounds in writing terms). Anyway, I realise I’ve not been seeing you around the blogosphere as much and I miss our long conversations on random things.
    Hoping you’re doing well and – well, obviously – writing lots!
    Alex πŸ™‚

  6. 80,000 is a fantastic accomplishment. I eked out my 50,000 – which finished the story, making it more novella length.
    As for dogs, I think my favorite fantasy dog is the Disreputable Dog from Garth Nix’s Abhorsen series. She is one sassy, talking dog. A demon dog sounds exciting too.
    I tried to have a dog in my recently finished WIP, but, alas, the dog wasn’t an integral character and ended up on the editing room floor. So, super awesome points to you if you can successfully integrate a dog.

    • I’m trying, but one of the faults I get caught on is something like, “Hey, where’d that dog go? Wasn’t there a dog or something?” Oh yeah. Oops. I usually have to have a “dog” edit, where I make sure the audience knows he’s there even if he doesn’t do much. That’s probably why I don’t have pets. Probably a good thing. I’m too neglectful… πŸ˜‰

      Nice work on getting the 50K! Yours is probably more quality. I have no problem with words. It’s more choosing the right ones. πŸ˜‰

      • The “Oh yeah! I need to make sure the dog’s there” problem is exactly why I cut out the dog. My story was a journey narrative, and the dog’s only real purpose was to say, “Hey, this guy has a dog! Dogs are awesome so this guy must be all right.” As I said, it was weighing down the narrative.
        The trick with pets and side-kicks is to find something essential for them to do, and also ways to write them in and out of the story.

What are your thoughts?

