Row80 and WIPpet November 6th

Do you people know what yesterday was? It was a significant date in history. You see, back in 1955, this unknown scientist was standing on a toilet to hang a clock and he fell and he had a vision. And from that vision came the flux capacitor. And that’s what makes time travel possible, ladies and gents.

Hats off to you Doctor Brown. And since we’re discussing Back to the Future, I just wanted to throw up a little reminder in case you see any rumors circulating on Facebook or otherwise about the date Marty goes to the future. We’ve still got a couple of years, so don’t believe the deceivers. We won’t be seeing that date until 2015. So no flying cars or hoverboards, not yet.

Back to the Future 2 Real Date

That’s right, I took a picture of the DVD playing on my Mac. Let it now be settled.

THE GOALS

Finish line edits on SHADE. I’m EXTREMELY pleased to say this goal was accomplished BEFORE NaNo began. Woot! I did notice a couple of flaws as I reached the end, but any fixing shenanigans will have to wait until at least December. Count that goal as achieved!

Read at least 2 new books. No new progress. I’m still a total slacker when it comes to mornings and train commuting still isn’t happening. Hopefully soon.

October NaNoWriMo Prep Work. I didn’t finish the outline completely, but I may have to rely on a little pansting to get me from point A to point B. Of course, if I have to stop and think then I will. But I’m fairly confident I can make 50K by November 30th. I’m hoping to push it to 60K, perhaps 70. We’ll see how ambitious I am come around November 20th. So I call that goal achieved as well.

NaNoWriMo Challenge. I’m off to a strong start. As of this post I’ve got ~13,000 words. That’s like 1/5 of the way through. The first couple of days were really strong, but I’ve reached a more fluid part of my outline and it takes some thinking, which slows down the writing. But I’ve met daily word count goals so far, so I’m at least on target.

Edit/finish the short stories I do have. No new progress.

WIPpet Wednesday

Okay, now that I am really working hard on another WIP, I’m going to post a short excerpt and then I’ve got places to be people. (I’m sure you have too). Let’s see, 11/6. What about 6 pages in, 11 lines? Since I haven’t posted anything from the previous novel, it’s hard for you to know much of anything. Logan is my main character and without a whole lot of backstory, his mother has been sealed inside him. He’s looking for a way to get rid of her, but for now he has to deal.

“Be careful,” came the voice he never wanted to hear.

Logan paused at the doorway, muttering, “Father told me to ignore you.”

His mother chuckled. “And do you really think I’ll just go away? I really wish you’d stop calling him that. He’s not your real father.”

“He’s a better parent than you’ve ever been.”

“Even though he’s hiding something from you?”

Uncomfortable tingles spread all over him at her words. Were it his aunt telling him this, he’d call her a liar in an instant. But his mother, he just wasn’t sure. She enjoyed using the truth to wound him. Although he wouldn’t put it past her to be a liar, as far as he knew she had never lied to him. “You’re just trying to manipulate me into turning against him. Well, I won’t. Besides, he answers any question I ask.”

What do you think? Is she a liar? Is she trying to manipulate him by lying or by telling the truth? Anything else you picked up from this excerpt? And how’s your NaNo going?

16 thoughts on “Row80 and WIPpet November 6th

  1. Interesting concept. I’m not sure I’d want my mother sealed up inside me. Love you, mom! 🙂 I can see this causing some very interesting situations.

  2. ummm heck to the no…my mama would never be allowed inside my head. Poor Logan. OMG relationships! bahahaha that could be SO amusing.

    Anyway…I don’t know if she’s lying. This is such an interesting concept that I’m still trying to wrap my head around it.

    • Thanks! Yeah, love my mom, but that’s a little too close for comfort. I’m really going to have to play with the concept. NaNo has certainly been interesting. I have to keep telling myself, this is just a first draft. 😉

  3. Um, um… wow… um… Not sure how I would feel in Logan’s situation. I mean, I have a character who ends up sharing his gead with a long dead ancestor at one point, but just the distance of time is enough to make the stressful situation less stressful.

    A mother and son though…. that’s a lot closer than I can imagine being comfortable. How did this happen, I wonder? Do we get to find out?

    And hooray for that great word count! I see you’ve got strong ambitions too. Keep at it, Jae. You’ll get there. (But then, you already know that, right?)

    • Thanks! It happened in the previous book, but I should do a brief reminder for any potential readers who would only be coming to this book. It’s just hard to weave it in without making it sound like, “Last time, in this book series…” 😉

    • Thanks! I’m grateful for those daily goals. I’ve hated the part of the story I’m currently on, so writing has been meh. But I make the goals and press forward, hoping the muse will make good discoveries (and that the rewrite will be better for it). I could skip ahead, but it’s a process I put myself through. Suffer through the parts I’m less interested in to get to the “good stuff.” Often the good stuff turns out to be less great later and the suffer stuff turns out to be good. Ah, the writing experiences…. 😉

      • Yeah, daily goals are definitely helpful. I’m working on a new project (coincidentally started on Nov 1), and I’m trying to stick to 500-1,000 words per day. I usually fall a bit short, but I’m proud of myself for spending some time each day on creative writing. It’s especially hard to fit it in right now because my husband is in trial (two weeks so far), leaving the bulk of the parenting responsibilities to me.

    • I think if it were up to Logan’s mama, the umbilical cord would be made of steel. This is really Donald Maass’ fault. In his books he always talks about making things horrible for your characters. This is something that came to mind. 😦

What are your thoughts?

