Goings On

Tomorrow I’ll put together some Row80 goals, but I figured a state of the writing union was due.

SHADE is finished, though I still want to do some line edits to make sure any changes are error free. I got through the first three chapters earlier last month and then moving and life happened. But now that I’m getting more settled I plan to get on it. Fortunately line edits won’t take more than a few days. I do the whole backward chapter thing, where I start with the last page of the chapter and read aloud to the first. Catches loads of errors.

CLEMMINGS is on standby. I made it up through where I had outlined, but now that NanoWriMo is looming I’m thinking it’ll have to be put on the back burner. I want to write SHADE 2 during November. And speaking of sequels.

SHADE 2 is getting the outline treatment. This is how I roll. I feel like an outline is a first rough draft for me, but without as much effort. I can try out different paths and see where they lead without poring hours of effort into words. I know this bores to death you pantsers out there, but you’ve got to work the way that’s best for you. I guess I see having to start over after where I’ve figured out where the story is going makes me squirm. I’d rather do it in shorthand first. To each their own, right? It’s been tricksy this time around since I had an idea of the story before which has had to change since I made significant changes to SHADE 1. You really get a sense of what traveling back in time could do to really mess up the future. No wonder Doc Brown was so adamant about interfering as little as possible.

SHORT STORIES haven’t gone anywhere. And they may not until after November. Actually that will probably be a wonderful break from NaNoWriMo to let what I’ve written get cold. Cold storage does wonders for catching errors.

What about you? Plans for the upcoming NaNoWriMo? Any new progress on any of your projects? Any fabulous news? Or even any encouraging news? Let us know below.

13 thoughts on “Goings On

  1. Letting something hang out in the drawer for a while really does give you great perspective. I’m contemplating how much prep to do for nano — and whether I really have time — but I think I may do it whether time is being friendly or not. πŸ™‚

  2. I was considering doing NaNoWriMo during summer. However, the episode of fear changed everything. However, my plan to over come my fear is going well. I wish you the best during NaNoWriMo and hope it goes great for you. πŸ™‚

  3. I’m doing the sequel thing for NaNoWriMo, too– again. Re-drafting. I’m such a rebel. πŸ™‚

    And I’m becoming more of an outliner as time goes on, too. I read an interesting post this morning about how a very detailed outline is more beneficial than a messy first draft, and it made sense to me– starting out that way will save me loads of revision time, if it works out. Now, if I’d tried that on my first novels, I never would have finished anything. Now, though… it just might work.

    http://mythicscribes.com/writing-process/benefits-of-outlining/

    • Great post! Everything I would want to say about outlining and more. It’s actually pretty fun to outline for me. I love seeing where the story is going, it’s really like pantsing but in shorthand form. Then if I go down one path and hate it, it hasn’t been 100+ hours of “time wasted” so to speak, probably more like an hour at best.

      We’ll be doing the awesome “re-draft” together. Well, some things will definitely be new. That reminds me, I’ve got to tweet you something…. *off to Twitter*

  4. I’ve tried outlining, but whenever I actually take the time to do so, I don’t end up writing that book. What can I say? I need to be spontaneous. πŸ˜‰ I can definitely see the benefit, though – I’ve written entire drafts that ended up being a waste of time because the premise didn’t work. One of these days I’ll give outlining another try…

    • You could do a really, really basic outline. Like if it were Harry Potter 1:
      Harry finds out he’s a wizard
      Goes to Hogwarts
      Finds a rival in Malfoy and an enemy in Snape
      Thinks Snape is after sorceror’s stone
      Tries to stop him from stealing it
      Realizes it was that other professor
      Faces Voldemort and barely wins.
      Lessons learned/conclusion.

      But again, do what works for you. I use it to explore plot lines so I know where not to go before I write it. They can be as detailed or as vague as you like. Sometimes I even do the mini outlines on a scene, trying to answer questions like what does the villain want, what does the hero want, etc.

      Of course, this is all advice coming from an outliner. πŸ˜‰

  5. Hi Jae, Glad you’re going to give it a go. I considered it but I’ve already done a first draft (which I also consider the outline), and I’m ready to start the hard work. I’m not sure I need the motivation that NaNoWriMo provides. I look forward to your reporting about your experience as only you can do!

    • Thanks! I thought I should try NaNo at least once. Sounds like fun. And it’ll be good to have a goal since I’ve been in a life funk lately… πŸ˜‰

      • Perfect! Your funk is still awfully productive. I always tell myself during the funk times that I’m recharging, researching, and mulling. It may be an excuse, but it usually works.

What are your thoughts?

