Why My Con Was Super

All right my lovelies, gather round and I’ll tell you a story. I’ll give you a more detailed Con goings-on Thursday, but today is about adventure. It all started on Friday.

I showed up to the Con decked out in my Lara Croft costume. I was going for a cross between classic Lara and new Tomb Raider game Lara. One of my favorite moments was when this other Lara called out to me, saying, “Hey younger me! Come here, let’s take a pic!” So we did.

thelarasI have to admit, I’m jealous of her sweet, sweet belt and holsters. But I have cool fingerless gloves, and that’s something. Right? Right?

After going to a friend’s panel on the video game he helped design for, Animal Jam, my geek gals decided it was time to get Dean Cain’s autograph. Did I want his autograph? Certainly! But having paid for Comic Con and dropping another large chunk of cash on my upcoming writer’s conference, well… Let’s just say cash was not as free-flowing this month.

I told a friend I would just be going along for moral support and to possibly meet Mr. Cain, which is when he said, “Oh? You want an autograph?” And then handed me some Comic Con vouchersβ€”specifically good only for celeb autographs and photos. Say whaaaaaat?!

Now I had a dilemma before me. Get an autograph or get a photo? Decisions people, decisions!

I joined up with my geek gals already in line for the autograph, still trying to decide which I preferred. Sure, it’s cool to have an autograph, but a picture, I decided was worth more to me. So I just stood by as moral support while they got their autographs.

But here’s the thing about Dean Cain, he’s an incredibly nice guy. So even though I didn’t have anything to autograph, he still made it a point to say hello, even standing to shake my hand.

dean02

Photographs, you see, are done at a specific time in another location. So of course I signed up. πŸ™‚ It would be the next day. But in the meantime, we had Dean’s panel to look forward to.

They had to move him to a larger room because they underestimated how much Utah loves Dean Cain. It’s a lot. Like a lot, a lot. And ladies, trust me, for however charming you thought he was as Superman, it’s even more so in person. Having been to San Diego Comic Con, I’ve been to my share of panels. Some celebrities are nice, most are just tolerant of their fans, and a few are, shall we say less than impressive.

Dean Cain falls under the category of awesomesauce. He seemed like he was really enjoying himself and interacting with the fans. There were fist bumps and hugs and genuine kindness to even the most awkward of fans. If charming is a superpower, Dean Cain has a super amount of it. πŸ˜‰

Dean Cain SLCC

Dean doing “glasses, no glasses.”

One of my geek gals was even brave enough to ask him a question. I guess one of his passions is writing. I look forward to seeing what he’s up to in the future. Apparently he has a bajillion projects coming up. Check out the list on IMDB.com.

PICTURE DAY

Saturday was the day. Picture day. I went over to the photo booth to see what time they were doing his pictures. 4:50 p.m. Wait a sec. Stan Lee’s panel is at 5 p.m. There’s no way I’m getting back in to see Stan if I leave for pictures.

More dilemmas! But this is Superman we’re talking about. So while I really, really, really wanted to see Stan Lee, well… the things a fan girl does for Supes. As I’m standing in line waiting for pictures to begin, I turn to the guy behind me and ask him, “What should I do for my picture?” Because I don’t want it to just be a grip-and-grin. Boring. And what does he say?

dean03

Gah! Suddenly I’m the Bashful Vulture on Bugs Bunny. Um, what’s Plan B? What’s your next best idea? But Random Dude in Line isn’t giving me nothing! Come on Random Dude!

Dean shows up and they’re whisking us through the line crazy fast. My friend goes first and gets a hug. A hug? Gah! Why didn’t I think of that?

Then it’s my turn. Remember how I said Dean’s superpower is charm? I swear it was in full sway. I walk in and set my stuff down and he’s got that McCharming smile on his face, and then Random Dude in Line shouts out, “Ask him!”

dean01

“Oh,” I say, setting my stuff down and fumbling for any kind of words. With a nervous laugh I continue, “Well, he was just saying that for my picture to ask you to pick me up andβ€””

Whoosh!

deannjae

And that, dear friends, is why my Con was super.

How was your weekend? πŸ™‚

32 thoughts on “Why My Con Was Super

        • I think you’d have a blast. For some reason I picture you dressing up steampunk. Is that right? Or I’d love it if you did a female Sherlock steampunk outfit. The nice thing about this year is a ton of the guys dressed up as Doctors Ten and Eleven. Lots of them looked really good. πŸ™‚

        • Yes! Steampunk female Sherlock would be awesome. For the school play this year, I actually wore a Sherlock/Ten style trenchcoat. Very fun!
          I almost went to last year’s London ComicCon as Jean Grey from Xmen. I had a trench/labcoat for that, as well.

What are your thoughts?

