Inspirational Monday Morning

Normally I do Monday’s Writerly quotes, but there’s so much more out there you guys. SOOOO much more. I felt like I needed a place to share all this great stuff, and Monday seemed like a great time to do it. So prepare yourselves. There may be quotes, there may be videos, memes—anything goes! I want to give you inspiration that may spark either more confidence and determination or perhaps new story ideas, or just whatever. So here we go with IMM!

Okay, these are a little older, but still quite applicable, and I’ll be adding to them as I go along. Some little tidbits for your enjoyment.

WHEN YOUR INNER EDITOR BECOMES ARNOLD SCWHARZENEGGER, FIND THE T-1000 TO TAKE HIM DOWN A NOTCH OR TWO

At some point, you’ve got to edit your story. And learning how to edit is a good thing. A great thing! But there really is too much of a good thing. Learn how growing both your inner creator and editor are equally important.

KEEP A GOOD SENSE OF HUMOR.

Did you hear about how a TV station in Oakland totally read faux-Asian names for a plane crash? Some how the names Wi To Lo and Ho Lee Fuk didn’t cross the reporter’s mind as something she shouldn’t read. Ever. At all. Anyway, Korean news decided it’s better to get even, and made this response.

SHENANIGANS ON THE INTERWEBZ

Geek culture is in right now and there’s no better fomentor of all things geek than the internet. I’m sure you remember Vanilla Ice (or you may be trying to forget). But I guarantee this video will have you singing “Ice, Ice Baby” in a whole new way.

WHEN LIFE IS MISERABLE, JUST MEME IT. MEME IT GOOD.

I’ve got two for you, although one probably isn’t technically a meme, I still found both enjoyable. And clever. Aaah, the cleverness.bestmeme-nerdgasm

memeaug7We should be looking for cleverness in everything around us. I guarantee you’re going to write a character one day who will use the traits embodied by these two memes. File them away for the future, my friends. File them away.

Anything impressing you on the interwebz? Any writing posts you’ve come across lately that you love? What do you think of Inspirational Monday Morning?

17 thoughts on “Inspirational Monday Morning

  1. This is going to be a fun post to look forward to. 🙂 As for something that impressed me, I was I watched the Ice Ice Baby, I recalled the Nostalgia Crit (he reviewed Cool as Ice). Never made it through all his videos, but his review of an animated Titanic movie (you know, for kids) was the first thing I saw of him and it was epic!

    • You’re welcome. I loved that post, wanted to share it with everyone. Seemed especially relevant to me because I’m in the midst of major editing. It’s good to remember to keep our inner creators strong too. 🙂

  2. Awesome material Jae. Looking forward to more of these posts. 🙂

    Double bonus is my wife and I recently watched Cool As Ice, because it just called out to us when browsing Netflix. That has got to be one of our new favorite ‘so bad it’s good’ movies.

What are your thoughts?

