Teaching Tunes Tuesday: Allison

What is Teaching Tunes Tuesday? Where I take 10 vocabulary words from either a Spanish or Japanese song and tell you what they mean so we can both increase our knowledge of the languages. Usually I do a lyric video followed by the official video, but I couldn’t find the official video. Come on, Vevo, get on the ball with this!

This week we’re featuring a song by Allison. This is one of their softer songs, so if you’re looking for a band to rock out to, you’ve still got them. It’s just sometimes slower songs it’s easier to understand the lyrics if you’re trying to learn the español like me. Dime Que often gets stuck in my head, so enjoy!

THE VOCABULARY

verdad – truth
sentir  – to feel; to sense
(you may see it as sentías or sientes)
¿Y ahora qué? – And now what? (phrase)
dime – tell me
acabado – finish (in this case finished)
orgullo – pride
brisa – breeze
creer – to believe
azul – blue
frente – front

What does Dime Que mean? Well, it’s technically the beginning of a phrase, so it means tell me that. But what they’re saying with this song is essentially: Go ahead and tell me that there isn’t an ocean between us, or that things haven’t gotten cold between us, etc. etc. He’s lamenting the loss of something in his relationship. Kind of a sad song, yet still beautiful somehow.

Okay, now that we’re 10 words more fluent in español, let’s go out and conquer el mundo!!! (The world, now you’re 11 words more fluent.) Goal to learn more Spanish: CHECK!

2 thoughts on “Teaching Tunes Tuesday: Allison

  1. Orgullo is one of those words that I go “That means pride… no. It doesn’t seem right… It has to mean something else…” I don’t know why, but refuse to trust myself and know it means pride.

    • For some reason it looks like the name of a spaghetti sauce to me. Maybe that’s a good association. Prideful spaghetti. But that’s funny, I did that yesterday with complacent. Hey, what’s a word that means content with what’s going on? Kind of like complacent, but maybe more like content. 😛

What are your thoughts?

