Row 80 Check-In July 17th

Hooray for Wednesdays! Middle of the week, goal check-in, life is good.

Speaking of life is good, those of you who’ve known me a bit know I’m a foodie. Well, remember on the 1982 version of Annie when they’re talking about what’s for dinner, and the cook talks about Baked Alaska (about 1:50 in)?

I’ve always wondered about what Baked Alaska was, all this time, and I’d heard it was a difficult dessert, so I put off making it for awhile. But for some reason it came to the surface again recently, and I produced this:

baked alaskaThe BFF’s favorite part was using the torch to give it that lovely golden-brown color. What is baked Alaska you ask? Three things: cake, ice cream, meringue. Based on a few lemon meringue store-bought pies I’ve had in the past, I thought meringue was kind of nasty. Not so! Fresh-made = delightful sugary awesomeness! And it doesn’t really “freeze” so it’s always good. The cake and ice cream, however, can become solid as bricks, so this is a dessert best eaten after baked or torched.

Okay, this is about goals after all.

The Goals

The book editing has come to an end, which has helped to supplement my Amazon buying addiction. I haven’t made as much progress as I would have liked, but progress still hath been made!

1. Read at least 10 more Anton Chekhov short stories to add to my progress of 50 of 201. I’ve read up to 54. It has certainly helped with writing short stories. I recommend to any of you to read Chekhov if you want to write short stories or even flash fiction. It teaches your brain about how long the story should be. Very helpful. And free!

2. Finish reading both The Fire in Fiction and On Writing. Last time I crossed those out to finish up Chime and Finnikin of the Rock. Finished Chime, which was decent-ish, and I’ll share more on that in a mini-review later. Finnikin, well… Let’s just say there was a reason I “finished” that so quickly. But onto the books. I think maybe On Writing first, since I’ve already read a couple Donald Maass books.

3. Submit Trick or Tree to another writing contest. Finish Dog Shy and write at least one other short story, all to be submitted to contests. No other short story, yet.

4. Write a flash fiction story. Wrote a flash fiction of 500ish words or so. I’m letting it get cold to see if it’s any good. It was fun to do and very fulfilling in a sense of finishing a story so quickly.

5. Do at least one thing every week that increases my fluency in Spanish and Japanese. Check and check! Still doing my Teaching Tunes Tuesdays and I checked out loads of Spanish-learning materials from the library. This morning I learned a phrase I hadn’t considered before: ¿Cómo te trata, la vida? which means, How’s life treating ya? I even tried this out on my Mexican co-worker, to which he responded in very quick Spanish something I didn’t catch at all. 😦 Oh well, carrying on.

6. Finish feedback edits on SHADE and get it queried. CP still on vacay.

Bonus Goals. It’s been fun to brainstorm about Book 2 (SHADE’s sequel), because I’ve changed a lot in Book 1 so ideas I had for Book 2 have also had to shift. I’m often faced with the “how does this scene work now that this has changed?” It’s fun to come up with answers. I love being a writer!

I’ve been doing fairly well keeping the 5am coach fired, at least when I make efforts to keep him fired he stays away. Now I’ve just got to get to bed a little earlier so I have a little more time for writing in the morning.

Are you accomplishing your writing goals? Have you ever tried Baked Alaska? What tips or tricks do you use to help you write flash fiction?

5 thoughts on “Row 80 Check-In July 17th

  1. I always wanted to eat one of those, but meringue is one of the few foods in life that I just can’t seem to enjoy. I don’t know what it is. That and raw marshmallows. I enjoy them burnt and melted, but raw? Can’t do it.

    • See, maybe you haven’t had a good meringue. Because bad meringue is spongy and rubbery. Good meringue melts in your mouth like a melted marshmallow, and if it’s been torched like the one you see here, it’ll have that burnt taste to it.

  2. good meringue is heaven but so many esp. bought are just crimes against cooking:( baked alsak id good good but so few can make it really well – me included – my mother had it to perfection:)

    checkov brilliant but haven’t read as many as you – must begin again

    all the best for this coming week:)

What are your thoughts?

