Row 80 Check-In July 10th

I’m only going to check in once a week for now. But hey, that’s what’s great about Row80 is you can do it the way that works best for you. That’s why I like participating. πŸ™‚

The Goals

So I took on another project which may slow up the Row80 goals for another week or so. I’m copy editing a friend’s book for $$$. It’s a little different than what I usually critique. It’s a book about crowdfunding, like IndieGoGo and those sorts of things. I’m learning a lot about it, so it makes for a interesting read. But it has a deadline of this week, so I’ll be back to the regular stuff soooooon.

However, that doesn’t mean I haven’t made any progress. Just not as much as I’d love to report. So here goes:

1. Read at least 10 more Anton Chekhov short stories to add to my progress of 50 of 201. I’ve read one, so let’s bump that up to 51. Woot!

2. Finish reading both The Fire in Fiction and On Writing. For now I’m going to change this to: finish reading the library books on my Kindle that are due and then read those books. I’m in the middle of Chime by Franny Billingsley. It’s… okay. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not poorly written or anything, it’s just not leaving me dying to read the next chapter. I may abandon it. So far it’s holding enough of my interest, so we’ll see. I also have Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta, which I haven’t started. And THEN I’ll get to the other books.

3. Submit Trick or Tree to another writing contest. Finish Dog Shy and write at least one other short story, all to be submitted to contests. No progress at all. Copy editing project…

4. Write a flash fiction story. Same…

Zanahorias via Arthur’s Clip Art

5. Do at least one thing every week that increases my fluency in Spanish and Japanese. Check and check! I’ve got the Teaching Tunes Tuesday happening and I downloaded JA Sensei and Spanish Babbel. I’ll probably lean more heavily Spanish for a while, since I’m closest to fluency there. Of course, I’m ADD about things, so maybe it’s good I’ve got two languages, so I can go back and forth when I’m bored. Today’s Spanish word of the week: zanahoria. It means carrot. And in the summer, I use the zanahorias a lot for juego (juice).

6. Finish feedback edits on SHADE and get it queried. My CP went on her much needed vacay and didn’t leave me with edits. 😦 But that’s okay, cuz honestly this editing project is taking up the majority of my time, so all good. I’ll pester her once she gets back. πŸ˜‰

Bonus Goals. I have been thinking a lot on SHADE’s sequel. I’m trying to make a few scenes work logically in my head before I write it out. That’s my process, think, think, think, then outline, then write, then think some more, then edit, edit, edit. And sometimes repeat. Aaaah, writing…

I’m feeling decent-ish about my progress, all things considered. It’s nice to have goals anyhow. Unfortunately my 5am coach somehow got rehired, so I’ve got to retrain again for getting up in the morning to write. It’s a lifelong struggle to fire that guy. He’s a sneaky one, he is.

How are you doing on your writing goals, be they Row80 or whatever? What do you do to stay motivated? Have you successfully fired your 5am coach, or does he sneak back in on you occasionally too?

17 thoughts on “Row 80 Check-In July 10th

  1. Life loves curve balling ROW80 goals! You seem to be doing great with them, though.

    Personally, I can’t wait for September so I can get back to Japanese studying. I’m almost done the unit I’m on too! It killed me that I didn’t finish ti before summer.

    • Thanks. I guess I felt for 80 days it wasn’t tons. We’ll see. Some of them I can’t do yet. Can’t wait to finish with this editing thing. Can’t wait for the weekend to play catch up…

    • I still haven’t seen it yet. Meant to fire my coach last night, but was helping out a friend late and, yeah, didn’t get up early, not even a little.

      Hoping tonight will be the night I get up early, at least in the 6 o’clock hour.

  2. I love your absolute realness about goals, schedules and such. If nothing else, between you and your commenters I walk away smiling πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ BTW, you are a very inspiring individual πŸ™‚

  3. Yay for the paid copy-editing, Jae. A little extra in the wallet helps, even if it does kind of interfere with the other stuff (and you still are managing to get somethings done, so an extra “Yay” there).

    But don’t fire the coach… You know how it is–people like to work sometimes. πŸ˜€

    • I’ve got to. He’s a terrible, terrible coach. This is what he’s like in the morning: Say what? Yeah, your alarm went off, but you need sleep. Just 10 more minutes. *10 minutes later* Oh no, it’s much too early yet. Press that snooze one more time.

      This morning I banished him to the furthest corner of my mind and got up and got things done. Woot! I’m sure he’ll try and sneak back in, he’s crafty. But life’s always a struggle against something.

What are your thoughts?

