21st Century Citizen

I’m still playing catch up with life and work, so today I opted for a Daily Post prompt:

Do you belong in this day and age? Do you feel comfortable being a citizen of the 21st-century? If you do, explain why — and if you don’t, when in human history would you rather be?

I think about this fairly frequently. After reading Kati and Heidi’s fabulous Roaring ’20s post, I am a great deal tempted to have lived back then. It was an era of limitless possibilities. You had cars really coming into play, radio, movies—and then of course the dreaded Black Thursday which led into the Great Depression. I wouldn’t have wanted to live through that (not that our recent economy trends have been any bit of encouraging…)

So here’s my answer: I’m glad I was born exactly when I was born, but I still want my own TARDIS or DeLorean to visit other eras.

Cuz let’s face it. If I’d have been a 20-something in the ’20s, at best Tom Baker would have been my favorite Doctor. And any guarantee that I’d live to see Back to the Future?

And speaking of Back to the Future, how could I have possibly gone on living knowing I would have completely missed a wonderful ’80s childhood? Oh sure, you can watch all the ’80s stuff on Netflix or somewhere. You can read about it. But what about living it? Where would I be today without my Rainbow Brite doll, complete with her horse Starlight? We’re talking about Ghostbusters, Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, The Goonies, moon boots, bright neon colors, The Cars—I could go on forever.

And let’s not forget teens in the ’90s. Grunge rock, flannel T-shirts, Empire Records (see Kate’s post on why that’s its own level of awesomeness), and the beginning of boy bands. Plus cellphones and the internet really start to come on the scene. Much like Kip, I love me some technology.

So, yeah, I’m feeling pretty darn comfortable right where I am. We’re in an age where we can be pretty much whatever we want to be, as long as we’re willing to put in the time and effort. Plus I like that there aren’t just 3 career options for me as a woman anymore (nurse, teacher, librarian).

So kudos to you 21st century!

Now where did I put that TARDIS?

What do you think? Are you loving the time you’re in? If not, when do you wish you were born?

22 thoughts on “21st Century Citizen

  1. I wouldn’t change a thing! I was born around the same time as My Little Pony, I had the first Rainbow Brite dolls… I still say 80’s kids had the best toys, when everything was kind of nutty but the toys didn’t do everything for us. I got to be a teenager in the 90’s, which I thought sucked at the time, but I look back now and realize how amazing it was. It’s kind of sad that the 90’s now seem like a more innocent time, but they do. Hey, no sexting. Big bonus points there!

    We live in exciting times. I wouldn’t mind visiting other eras, but I’m happy right where I am. 🙂

  2. Groan! The career options. I always thought of them as nurse, teacher, or secretary. I never called being a clerk in a store a career, but that was the other choice in my day. How horrible, when I look back, to be so limited!

  3. Thanks for the blog love! Yeah, I think the 1920s were exciting…but I like living right where I am, too. However, if you do ever find yourself with a TARDIS, give me a call – it would be awesome to visit these other time periods, too, even though I like living in this one.

    • That would be the epic Mystic Scribble adventure of all time and no one would believe us! And, puh-lease. I’m not going to ‘call’ you if I find a TARDIS. I’m going to show up at your apartment in the TARDIS. Wouldn’t want to spoil that entrance. 😉

  4. I do love that I was a child of the 80s and a teen of the 90s, but there is a part of me that would have loved to have been born in 1900. 20 in the 20s – I’d have rocked the flapper look, 40 in the 40s and able to appreciate the Rat Pack, and then a crazy old hippie grandma in the 60s. That would have been fun, but since I’m looking at them through fairly rose colored glasses, I’m pretty happy with where I am! Plus, 10 is my favorite Doctor – and while I love Classic Who, it’s just not the same!

    • That’s been my state of mind. Too much from our current time I’d have to give up. That’s where having our own TARDIS would come in handy. 😉

  5. I wish I had a TARDIS too. That way I could go back to medieval times and find out exactly how everything smelled (probably awful). But I kinda like the era I’m living in. I also love my indoor plumbing.

    • Indoor plumbing is a big, big sale for this era. A/C and Washers and Dryers are another big hit we’d have to take in the past. Going back in time is like perma-camping, but hardcore style. Yeesh, they had a fair few of those TARDIS’s on Gallifrey. Wonder where the rest ended up?

  6. I guess I’m the oldest commenter here, but I’d like to say, I think I’ve had the best of all worlds. I came of age in the early 1970s so I enjoyed many of the benefits that came as a result of the 1960s. I saw the growth of computers and technology and I’ve tried to stay current. All of the decades (I’m in my sixth one now) have brought a richness to my life. I enjoyed raising a daughter during the 1980s and 1990s. I’ve worked in positions where I’ve made friends with people 20 and 30 years younger than myself and I’ve loved learning from them. I’m quite satisfied and love this question, Jae.

  7. Yes, to know the 80’s you had to live through it 🙂 My kids get a good laugh at some of the outfits and shows I watch. Especially movies, OMG, they are like, “You guys really wore that????” “Like, Totally!!!” 🙂

  8. Right there with you. For me if I had to go back anywhere, it would be to the Picts in Scotland pre-Christianity. But I’m happy right here with my Rainbow Brite memories (and Glo Worms, Hey Dude! and Salute Your Shorts…ah, 80s Nick). I wouldn’t have missed the 90s for nothing, either. I still find myself wishing that decade could repeat itself and that River Phoenix and Kurt Cobain never died.

    • That’s such a tough one, because if Kurt Cobain hadn’t died, we wouldn’t have Foo Fighters, but I do ❤ me some Nirvana. #firstworldproblems But yeah, give up Rainbow Brite, Glo Worms and Hey Dude! I mean, come on, let's not get crazy!

What are your thoughts?

