AFB: Daphne Shadows

Welcome to April’s Featured Blog, something I’ll be posting here on Lit and Scribbles most of the month to introduce all of you to perhaps some new future friends and get to know a little more about your blogging community.

Today we talk with Daphne, writer of the blog Daphne Shadows and among the first of blogger friends I made on WordPress. Daphne’s tough, inspirational, and just fun to know. Tell everyone who you are:

DS: I wrote a semi-psychotic book in the second grade and was instantly a writing-obsessed crazy person (though that first book went missing under suspicious circumstances long ago). I grew up surrounded by everything fantasy – from TV shows to books to strange music to crazy relatives – and that’s what I love to write to this day. Vampires and werewolves were my first guides through the paranormal, horror infested corridors of my mind. Things only got stranger from there.

J: When did you first start blogging and what is your blog about?

DS: I began blogging in May 2012; May 9th to be exact. It’s like my mini bio says… “My blog will reflect me. Simply put: what inspires and/or ignites raw emotion within me will find its way here.”

100daphneJ: Which of your posts was the most fun to write and why?

DS: As a rule, I only write posts which are fun for me to write. So I don’t really have a complete answer for this one. My “hotel hell” posts have been really fun writing, however. I love being able to string so many pictures in and it’s given me a better idea of narrative in a series of posts.

J: What type of stories do you write?

DS: I write fiction; fantasy (paranormal) and horror.

J: Protagonist excluded, which of your characters is your favorite?

DS: This is a hard one. I’d have to say Nathaniel. He’s Hidden (as opposed to being human), just has a way about him and you know he’s hiding something. You just don’t know why.

J: Who are your favorite authors?

DS: As far as my favorites go, they usually change with my mood. But some I consistently consider my favorites are: Dean Koontz, Laurell K. Hamilton, Karen Chance, and Patricia Briggs.

J: What are the last three books you read, and would you recommend them?

DS: 1 – Kiss of Darkness by Heather Graham. It’s an interesting take on the life of vampires and warriors, there’s even a werewolf. 😉 Heather Graham does an excellent job keeping you in the dark on some major things and weaves them in when you’d least expect it. 2 – Flirt (book 18 in Anita Blake series) by Laurell K. Hamilton. I loved this book! Anita Blake is a vampire executioner and necromancer. She’s moody and blunt and doesn’t take any crap. 3 – Nice Girls Don’t Have Fangs by Molly Harper. This book was hilarious. The main character had a great personality, an ex-librarian who doesn’t care about anyone’s rules. She gets turned into a vampire and instantly chalks up some sticky situations. I couldn’t put it down; sucked me right in. I would recommend all three books.

J: Do you listen to music while you write?

DS: Yes. It depends on the mood/tone of the scene and the personality of the character(s).

J: Aside from writing, what are your favorite things to do?

DS: Read, obviously. I’m picture happy, love playing with my dog… there’s a lot I like to do. It pretty much just depends on my mood. I’m a moody person.

J: If you could be granted one superpower, which would it be?

DS: To never have to sleep, never get tired. That would be pure awesome.

J: Where’s the farthest away from home you’ve traveled?

DS: The beach, about an hour’s drive away. I moved to Indiana when I was in middle school and never considered that home, so maybe that counts? I’m a Cali girl. Sun! I need sun! *gets holy water and cross out, tries to scare snow away*

J: What’s the one thing you wish you’d known about writing earlier?

DS: I kind of don’t wish I’d figured out what I know in any other order or time table. What I’ve got is working for me. I don’t like to mess with what is working well.

J: What advice would you give to new writers getting started on their first story?

DS: Go read every author, editor, agent, and publisher’s advice you can. Read it all so you can see what is opinion and what is fact. Figure out what’s going to work for you. Find a critique partner, they’re not just there to look at your MS. Having a really good critique partner means you guys talk all the time – via phone, in person, or internet – and understand what each other are looking for and working towards. Having another writer to talk to is helpful beyond description.

Write a story you would love to read, write a story you would love to get lost in, one that you can get excited about every day. Make your story take place in a world you can become addicted to. Make sure you love what you’re doing (writing).

Oh, and read. A lot.

THANKS, DAPHNE!

You’re right about reading a lot—at least if one wants to be a good reader rather than a mediocre one. I love that you picked “no need to sleep” as your superpower. I’d definitely want you on my zombie apocalypse team. 🙂

Questions for Daphne? Have you ever been stuck in a place like “hotel hell”? Was how you grew up a big influence on what you currently write today? Have you read any of the books Daphne has read? Let her know below.

And be sure to stop by Daphne’s blog and follow her on Twitter or connect with her via WANAtribe. One final note from Daphne:

Here are three page links pertaining to my novel: A post on my main character, Blair, is found here. My home page on my current work in progress (novel featuring Blair) is found here on my blog. And my next big thing post can be found here.

While I won’t beat you if you don’t click into them, it’d be pretty awesome if you did. 😉

9 thoughts on “AFB: Daphne Shadows

  1. Hi Daphne, great interview! Just curious about Flirt, did Laurel K. Hamilton finally get rid of Richard?

    I’ve read the first 13of the Anita Blake bools, and she totally is a likeable, tough protagonist.

    • Thank you! 😀
      No, she never got rid of Richard….. ahhhh! *pulls hair out* But about book 20, he gets more tolerable. Don’t fall over – I know! Just hold out until book 20, k?! 😉
      I agree completely, she’s my favorite tough female protag

  2. I love the scribble of me!… Okay, I AM SO SORRY it took me so long to reply to you and those who commented – I had no internet access for 5 months!
    And I would so rock your zombie apocalyptic team, Jae. 😉

    • Oh yeah, totally forgot you weren’t able to respond to this. So glad you did come over. And woot! Never hurts to organize a zombie apocalypse team early. It could start tomorrow. We just don’t know! We don’t! 😉

What are your thoughts?

