Happy Birthday Blog!

birthday blog jae

It was one year ago today that I finally decided to get with it and start blogging. It really started with a writing conference and meeting a new friend who told me all about how I could connect with the writing community via Twitter and blogging.

My very first post was on the importance of feedback. How true it was then, how true it is now. In fact, it feels even more important now. I hope that means as a writer I’m growing up.

So here we are, one year later. And it’s been a pretty exciting year. Come celebrate with me the madness that has been Lit and Scribbles.

CELEBRATE GOOD TIMES

I was kind of hoping there would be certain other momentous occasions to add to the birthday, and it seems karma put the Scribbles right on target. I’m pleased to share several landmarks that I’ve hit.

10,000 views

I owe a lot of this to all of you. Thanks to those who started with me in the beginning. I’ve learned a lot from our chats. And thanks to those I’ve just gotten to know. I feel like my writing community is growing, and definitely filled with more and more awesome people.

MY THANKS TO YOU

In order to celebrate the friendships I’ve made along the way, I’ve decided to feature my favorite posts from blogger friends I’ve met from the top commenters and perhaps a few extras thrown in just because. Starting with my top commenters.

Mystic CookingMystic Cooking. I met Heidi and Kati at a writers conference in New York, and I eagerly await the day Mystic Cooking will be on bookshelves everywhere. πŸ˜€ One of my favorite posts of theirs (and usually my favorite posts) is one they co-wrote on co-writing a novel. Ever wondered how that might work? You can read their post and find out. And seriously peeps, Mystic Cooking will one day take the publishing world by storm (I should know, I read the first chapter). But like all wise writers, Heidi and Kati are carefully sculpting their story to perfection and finding the best path to publication. Thanks girls! I’m so happy I got to meet you in NYC!

picturemeΒ Picture Me Reading. Not really sure how Picture and I stumbled into each other, but I’m glad we did. Picture (whom I think is named Alisa) likes doing comics on her blog sometimes too, so it’s only natural that we would end up being friends. I especially love when she does reviews with comics. I was the kid who liked the picture books, I’ll admit it. I still think it wouldn’t kill a few novels to have those B&W pics at the front of the chapter, like Harry Potter. Just sayin’. Anyways, one of my favorite posts of Alisa’s was her review on Shadow & Bones. This was a book I tried reading during a book blitz last year and sadly had to take it back to the library before I could read it. Then I stumbled onto Alisa’s review and now I know I MUST read this book in the near future.

And as is Scribbles tradition, since I haven’t yet drawn a comic of you, I’m pleased to present you one, which is based off the comics I’ve seen on your site. Feel free to use it should you desire. Thanks, Alisa, for being a fellow scribbler’s friend!

Gloria WeberGloria Weber. I met Gloria via Row80 and we share a love of all things Asian and occasionally try to chat ζ—₯本θͺž(Japanese) with each other. EspaΓ±ol tambien. Gloria does weekly posts, which usually end up being my favorite, where she shares her writing music. Often it’s Korean or Japanese bands. My favorite of these was probably Lipstick, mostly because the video is bizarre and fun at the same time and somehow that song stays stuck in my head all day.

Want to expand your music horizons? Then make sure you pay Gloria a visit. By the way, not all the songs are like Lipstick. Some are hard rock, some are rap, and some are of the Lipstick persuasion. Enjoy! γ‚γ‚ŠγŒγ¨γ†γ‚ˆγ‚°γƒ­γƒͺを!

P.C. ZickP.C. Zick. Patricia and I go way back. Waaaayyy back into 2012. πŸ˜‰ But seriously, folks, she’s an author with a wealth of info. I love it when I get the orange chat box notification and see that it’s Patricia who’s left me a comment. She always has something fabulous to add to the dialogue. Thanks for that Patricia! One of my favorite posts of Patricia’s was Communication is an Endangered Species. I felt it was a very thoughtful piece on the state of communication, if not a stark reminder to make sure that we keep our use of technology in balance and make sure real life relationships and conversations occupy the majority of our lives, not the minority.

Alexandrina BrantMiss Alexandrina. Alexandrina and I became friends, well, we just did. Like fate. And I’m certainly glad we have. Alexandrina’s got a few fabulous novels in the works (okay, so I can only say that with authority on one, but I’m a believer), and she’s also a philosopher of sortsβ€”at least in that she shares what she’s learning about philosophy with her own interpretation of it. I never really got into philosophy in high school or college, so I like hearing it and hearing it from her perspective. One of my favorite posts of hers has got to be You Are What You Write, meaning what you write about is what’s hidden in the subconscious. A little frightening, I’m sure, for those of us who write about (as she pointed out) murder, or torture, or anything we would find abhorrent in real life. See what she means and read the post. And thanks Alexandrina! I’m glad we’re blogger buddies. πŸ˜€

A.M.B.Β A.M.B. Amal is one of those waaaaaayyy back in 2012 blogger buddies as well. I like visiting her blog because she’s a lawyer who gives her perspective on books and writing. Let me explain, it’s not that she fills her blog with solely legal jargon, but you can sense a more legalistic view of things in her posts and that’s what fascinates me. I think one of the first posts I read was about how we shouldn’t ban books just because we don’t like them, and I couldn’t agree more. But our perspectives aren’t always the same, and honestly, that’s a lot of the reason I keep going back. I don’t always want to be hearing things from people who agree with or sound like me. Make sense?

Anyway, favorite post is actually one less about books and law and more about family. She did a post on her twins and how to encourage individuality in them. I always thought it would be cool to be a twin, or have twins, hence the appeal. I feel like I’m doing a terrible job promoting her blog, so let me sum it up like this: I like it and you should go there. πŸ™‚

THE EXTRAS

For the sake of length, the extras will get a fabulous paragraph starting now. Other posts I’ve loved from you peeps include one I can’t stop laughing about, from Kate over at Disregard the Prologue. Wish I had a Rossy to visit. Slepsnor and I have become friends recently and he’s got a new book out. And lastly Green Embers does comics too, and I particularly loved this gem from the other day.

100daphneOh wait! One more! There’s even a comic to go with it. My blog buddy Daphne has been living in Hotel Hell for some time now. You’ve got to check out her posts on this real life situation (posts 1, 2, and 3). I’m telling you, this is the stuff of future bestseller material. Hang in there, Daphne! I guess that which does not kill us makes us better writers?

THANKS MY PEEPS!

Thanks for stopping by. I hope you grabbed a little cake and ice cream as you were browsing the blogs. Thanks for making a great year and here’s to another great year ahead!

44 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Blog!

  1. Wow, Happy Blogday! Blogiversary? I would have made cupcakes if I’d known. With sprinkles. And a candle.

    I’ll have more Engrish for you tomorrow- that counts as a present, right? πŸ™‚

    I’m very excited to have a look at the blogs you’ve mentioned…

  2. Happy Birthday, Lit and Scribbles! This is one of my favorite blogs. You write thoughtful posts and encourage discussion. Thank you for saying such nice things about my blog (and thanks again for the comic–I love it!). It’s been great to get to know you through WordPress.

    • Awwww… you make me blush. :”> I’m glad you enjoy coming here and that you still love your comic. Here’s to another year of blogging. πŸ™‚

  3. What a wonderful surprise on this otherwise dreary and snowy March morning. I’m glad you like my comments because I love your blog. I also started my blog a year ago this month. Congratulations on meeting your goals.

    • Oooh, you’ll have to have a birthday celebration! Thanks. I saw I was getting close to 10K and realized the blog’s b-day was coming up. It’s nice when things like those work out together. πŸ˜€

    • Thanks! Funny you should say, it seems like there was one I preferred more than Lipstick, but after searching through all the music posts, I couldn’t find it. The music video made me laugh, so I picked Lipstick. And yeah, total earworm!

  4. Congrats! On your blogoversary! I love reading your blog and look forward to reading more posts by you! I feel I have learned a TON about the writing process through reading your blog post! I LOVE THE PICTURE! AHH! Awesome! I am totally posting that on my weekly Highlights if you don’t mind! πŸ™‚

    • Sure. I drew it for you. I figured you’d be sitting on a stack of books since you’re able to read so much. And I’m glad you are learning stuff. πŸ™‚

  5. Yay! I’ve just reached a couple of milestones, too, though only half the greats as you have. Thanks for the awesomeness!

      • Lol, thanks! Milestones of any kind are always great to reach. I remember first hitting 100, then 500, then 1000 views and so on. Just kind of fun. πŸ˜€

      • Lol. It’s my marketing background to blame. I like watching the stats and seeing which posts are more popular. Just interesting to me. πŸ˜‰ You’ll have to do a milestone celebration for your next big one. πŸ˜€

        • That’s true. I definitely do it more now than last year. I think it’s become more about which content has been more popular.
          I am! Working on two at the moment. I don’t want to do consecutive ‘blogging’ topic posting though, so I may spread them out as to come.

    • Thanks! There might be a few old pieces here in the back. *rummaging* Ah, here it is. This piece has part of a frosting balloon on it. πŸ˜‰

      Thanks for the congrats! πŸ˜€

What are your thoughts?

