Friday Flix: The Amazing Spider-Man

friday flix jae scribblesWelcome to another edition of Friday Flix. This week we go superโ€”or at least there’s a superhero involved. It’s The Amazing Spider-Man with Andrew Garfield and Emma Stone. This was one of those movies I kept meaning to see last year and it just never happened. Thank you free Redbox code for giving me a movie to watch on a cold, snowy day!

Let’s get to getting.

The description from IMDB.com:

Peter Parker finds a clue that might help him understand why his parents disappeared when he was young. His path puts him on a collision course with Dr. Curt Connors, his father’s former partner.

We start the movie off with Peter Parker as a kid, I’m sure meant to create immediate sympathy between us and Petey, because he’s a poor little cute kid. You’re always going to feel something for them cute things, right?

I was a bit skeptical of Andrew Garfield. To me he looked like a Backstreet Boy in a red and blue suit. But his performance surprised me. Instead of being the geeky kid everyone tolerated, he was the weird loner everyone tolerated. It works. And I did like him as Spider-Man. In fact, I think he makes a better Spider-Man than Tobey Macguire. (Note I only said Spider-Man, not Peter Parker).

Backstreet’s back, all right!

THE TROUBLE WITH REBOOTS

My biggest problem with a reboot so soon to the last set of Spider-Man movies it the previous movies are still too fresh in my mind. And for me, if you subtract the semi-disaster that was Spider-Man 3, you’ve still got quite a memorable and well-told franchise. Sam Raimi, Danny Elfman, and a guest appearance by Bruce Campbell! And in Amazing we have…that Brit guy, that girl and that director who did…

Although it had been 5 years since SP3, it still felt like the other movies had just come out. Batman Begins had 8 years between it and the last Batman atrocity. But I think we can all agree SP3 was certainly no Batman & Robin.

I think the writers had the right idea starting out. The mad scientist has the appropriate motivation, fixing an arm. They kept the Osbornes physically out of it so we didn’t have too much throwback to previous movies. But somehow the story still struck me as unoriginal. I know there’s nothing new under the sun, but I wanted to come away from the movie agreeing a reboot was necessary. I didn’t.

CONVENIENCE AND THE UNEXPLAINED

I guess it’s movie logic that because your father was a scientist you automatically would understand every complex thing he was working on when you discovered the files containing his top-secret work. I suppose you could say he just brought the formula he found to the mad scientist, but the way the computer somehow knew whether or not it would work was unbelievable to me too. At least the spiders made a little more sense. (Gah! When they all fell on him I about died! I’m serious!)

His favorite place to chill when he’s reading advanced metaphysics.

But supposedly him and the lead girl (whose name I still can’t remember, despite reading it a few times for this) go to a science high school? But so why do they have a basketball team and a weird jock bully if it’s a science high school? Wouldn’t most of the students attending the science high school be less bullysome, and not like Flash? And it seemed awfully convenient that she happened to work in the lab and would know how to make the cure they needed to save the day in the end.

I also didn’t buy into him “developing” his own webs. I suppose technically he stole the idea from OsCorp, but I couldn’t really buy the amount of webs he was using in the movie. Even the BFF turned and asked me, wouldn’t he have run out by now?

NOT SO AMAZING

Raindrops keep falling on his head…

Most of the movie I found myself wishing we were watching Spider-Man 1 or 2 instead. It’s a shame we couldn’t take the Brit kid’s Spider-Man and combine it with Tobey Macguire’s Peter Parker somehow. I also missed Rosemary Harris and Cliff Robertson tons (Aunt May and Uncle Ben).

It’s not a terrible movie, and I didn’t hate watching it. I was just left with a big, “So what?” And less motivation to watch Amazing 2 whenever it hits theaters. I think I may go pull out SP1 & 2 this weekend. It at least inspired me to do that much.

What did you think of the Amazing Reboot? Was it Amazing? Not? Do you love the Brit kid way more than Tobey, or were you missing Tobey as well? What do you think of reboots? Is there a wait time they should give the movies before “rebooting” them? Let me know below.

8 thoughts on “Friday Flix: The Amazing Spider-Man

  1. I actually had no interest in seeing this reboot because it came out so close to the other spiderman movies. I don’t think your review here has changed my mind. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Especially the whole bit about the spiders.

    I think that in the original Spiderman cartoons Peter Parker did use science to invent something to make the webs, but it’s been too long since I saw those cartoons…like 20 years too long. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I can’t really make an argument for you to watch it. I’m not opposed to Peter inventing the web tech, this guy just never seemed like the science type. Photographer, yes. Scientist, no. I would have believed Tobey invented them, but having it come out of his arm worked in great comedic ways too. The originals were just better films. Period. Although I might watch Amazing before SP3, hard to say. But that’s probably still not enough reason for you. Life’s too short anyway. Plenty of other good movies to see.

  2. I haven’t seen this new Spiderman yet, but I loved the old one so I don’t really know how I feel about this whole reboot thing. And you’re right, this release was way too close to the last one released, it’s like as soon as they finished the third one they started over. It almost seems like the first three are pointless if they can so easily start over. ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. I really liked this Spiderman, but I think it was waaaay too soon to do the reboot. I know they’re doing it with Superman, and there have been rumors about another Batman reboot as well, but if it’s too close to the last one it leaves too much room to compare. These movies are already being compared to the comics – being compared to the last reboot just adds even more pressure, and they have to bring a lot to the table to pull it off. This could lose some older fans of the comics, and possibly disappoint fans of the last reboot. Without enough time between releases, the newest reboot could be harder to appreciate for its different take. It’s a risk. I like both versions of Spiderman so far though, for different reasons. Tobey Maguire and Andrew Garfield played the character from two different angles, which I liked – especially since the two versions were released so close together. And even though there were some things that were just a little too convenient plot wise, it kept me engaged enough to overlook them. ๐Ÿ™‚ Lol, but I do have a little (maybe big) superhero movie bias – if they can draw me in with the characters or story (hopefully both) I can usually overlook a lot. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I think the Superman reboot is okay because the last movie was rubbish. Granted, I’m a big Superman fan, and I still own the movie, but it’s still rubbish. We need a good Superman movie desperately, and I’m hoping Zack Snyder will provide. Thanks for commenting! I appreciated hearing your perspective. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Lol, yeah I have to agree there. The last Superman was not as good as it could have been. I have it because I’m a Superman fan in general though. So far, just going with the previews, I’m feeling optomistic about the Superman reboot. ๐Ÿ™‚

        • I’m cautiously optimistic. I don’t want it to be Batman in a Superman suit. Superman isn’t about the darkness, he’s about the light. But I’m still optimistic. Chris Nolan didn’t do us wrong with Batman, I’m hoping that as a producer he won’t do us wrong with Superman either.

          Tee hee! I love that we both own a movie “because it’s Superman” not because it’s awesome. *fist bumps*

What are your thoughts?

