Monday’s Writerly Quote

With Pitch Wars and Pitch Madness behind us, some may be wondering what now? Well, there’s always Peter Knapp’s manuscript critique contest (seriously, check it out). But more than that, it’s important to keep writing. From one of my favorites, Ray Bradbury:

You fail only if you stop writing.

Maybe you need to take a break, try something different, or reassess your goals. Maybe you write a few short stories, a novella, or the sequel to your current WIP. Whatever you choose to do, keep on writing. Even if you have your book in for consideration with agencies, keep on writing.

My personal advice, is look into contests. A lot of the biggies seem to culminate April/May, although they are all over the place with different deadlines. It’s always nice to rack up some writing creds for the query, especially since requests from agents usually means a lot of waiting in the meantime. Besides, I found it really helpful for SHADE to put it away for a few weeks and write something else so I could come back at it with fresh eyes.

During the fall, I had a goal to read all 200 available Anton Chekhov short stories. I only made it to 50, but it certainly helped me figure out rhythm when it came to writing short stories. So something else you can  do in the meantime is study the genre you want to write. In other words,  READ, READ, READ. And then read some more in a different genre, just to shake it up.

But always, always, keep on writing.

How about you? What do you do when it’s time to take a break from the novel? Any upcoming contests for you?

10 thoughts on “Monday’s Writerly Quote

  1. Usually I put off editing as much as possible. I want to forget details of the plot. That usually means seeing another WIP or two through to the end. This year I’m trying something new and basically saving everything for summer editing fest. My kids let me read, but not write. That said it should work out if I read, jot notes, and then do proper edits at night after they sleep.

    PS- Silly Chancy, get back in your pokeball!

    • Haha! I love that you know his name. おもりしろい!I agree with you, it’s good to let the story get cold. That’s nice that your kids can help you out, or at least sort of. Did you have a good weekend, btw?

      • My kids are in the Pokemon age. As more my weekend? I’d rather not get into detail about it. Bad start and decent end. My husband is awesome for saving it for me and going through it with me.

        • Aw, hooray for awesome husbands! Sorry you had a bad weekend, but I’m glad things ended at least decently. I hope your week is going better at least.

  2. A lot of times I’ll work on a different story when I need a break from my WIP. But if I need a break from writing I’ll either work on some drawing projects or read. I also like to go on long walks. Walks always help to inspire me with writing and drawing. 🙂

    • Yeah, I’m finishing up some editing, then I’m taking a break from SHADE for a bit and going to try short stories and novellas. It’s contest time! How’s MYSTIC COOKING? All edited and polished?

  3. I have about six projects in the works (which I don’t feel badly about because Stephen King has about 40…no lie). I agree completely. I can’t tell you how many times I have stepped away from a project, come back to it a few weeks later and realized what a mess it was. REALLY good advice, Jae.

What are your thoughts?

