Row80 Update Dec. 17

image

One of the things the BFF and I like to do it’s see Christmas lights. More on this in a future post. But enjoy the fun pic.

It’s been a crazy week–and day. That’s why I’m pretty late. Not much new progress thanks to Pitch Wars, but I’m hoping to change that now, especially with feedback coming from my mentor.

Goals:

  • Write at least 3 short stories intended for publication.  I’ll probably try my hand at several more than three, but the hope is to find three gemstones among the rocks.
    On hiatus.
  • Read the helpful books to prepare me for the editing fest that will be late November early December on SHADE
    Still working on Story. Nearly there.
  • Have read all 201 available Anton Chekhov’s short stories, sprinkled with Hemingway and Bradbury.
    50 of 201
    Chekhov short stories. No new progress.
  • Polish SHADE to pure awesomeness. 
    Stage One: Check!
    Stage Two: Get feedback and strengthen the story, which is forthcoming.
  • Don’t Dessert December.
    Probably not happening as much as if line, especially this week. I’ll probably approach this more strongly in January.
  • The Holiday Book Read!
    Got four books I’ve requested at the library: Prince of Thorns, Firelight, Darkfever, and The Halloween Tree.

So, not huge updates, but at the same time I feel like I’m in a good place with my goals and writing. I think for some reason the holiday season too can throw off our rhythm. I’m taking joy in small progress, even if it isn’t going exactly the way I had intended.

Do you feel like the holiday season makes it harder for you to accomplish goals? Have your goals changed? Are you okay with the changes? Any advice when it comes to goals during this season? Let me know below.

3 thoughts on “Row80 Update Dec. 17

  1. Maybe you can interview your mentor…if the two of you have a spare moment between critiques, and edits. That would be a fun post. Seems like the two of you really hit it off. I’m so happy for you. The possibility of working with an agent in the near future excuses all your other goals. I’m pretty sure most other writers would do the same. We can call it a writer’s pass. 😉 Enjoy your pass, and make SHADE shine.

    • Thanks! I’ll definitely have to take that into consideration. Mostly I’d have to come up with some pretty cool questions. Hmmm… yep, I’m going to have to work on this one.

      It is cool thinking it’s possible I could be working with an agent in the near future. But no matter what happens with this contest, I’m just grateful to be working with Marieke and learning how to take my writing skills to the next level. 🙂

What are your thoughts?

