Amazon Cloud Player Love

This could definitely be something I love, but since yesterday I was talking about how Amazon practically owns me with how much money I throw at them on a monthly basis, I thought I would share something I really love about Amazon—the Cloud Player.

mp3_cloudplayer_logo600px

I know this isn’t anything new. Apple’s been doing this junk for years. And while the only computers I’ve ever owned have all been Macs, I hate the restrictive environment that comes with Apple when it comes to music and movies. They’ve gotten better, I’m not hating, I just like Amazon more.

Enter Amazon’s Cloud Player, something I’ve been using heavily lately, especially during my mad amounts of editing I did leading up to Pitch Wars. I love that I can buy music and play it without necessarily having to download, but that I can download whenever and wherever I want.

So, today’s post is a plug for a few albums that I love and was mostly introduced to by Amazon.

99The 99 Darkest Pieces of Classical Music is one of the best purchases I’ve ever made. 99 mp3s for $6? Are you kidding me? (And for me at the time, it was $4, plus I had a $1 credit I had from Amazon from a previous music purchase. Sweet!)

It features great pieces such as Toccata and Fugue in D Minor, which is the quintessential Halloween song IMHO. The Carnival of the Animals. The Montagues and the Capulets. In the Hall of the Mountain King, and 90+ other awesome songs. I’m fairly certain a lot of these composers inspired John Williams and Hans Zimmer, because I hear pieces of them in this music. I think it’s still worth the $6.

pict-cover-International_20111011_152548Next up is The Greatest Video Game Music, which features orchestral versions of a number of themes, my favorites being Uncharted, Super Mario Bros, and the Legend of Zelda. These always bring a smile to my face, and they sound soooo good when a real orchestra performs them. Last I checked the whole album ran for $6 mp3, $9 CD. You can buy songs individually if you aren’t interested in everything on the album.

startrekcoverLast on my playlist is Star Trek the soundtrack composed by Michael Giacchino. It’s really Pandora’s fault I bought this. Are you reading this music executives? Listening to music for free on Pandora made me go and buy an album. (Which also happened with Sufjan Stevens Christmas album. If you haven’t heard that, you’ve gotta take a listen!) I love this soundtrack, but my favorite track has got to be “That New Car Smell.” I know, an odd name for a song, but he likes to be creative with his song titles.

So there you have it. Of course I have other music on there, mostly Christmas right now, but for editing this is my current selection. Amazon allows you to upload 250 of your own songs for free to have on the Cloud. I’m thinking my Goonies soundtrack as well as my Speed Racer soundtrack will get uploaded soon.

Do you use Cloud Player? What do you use instead if you don’t? Do you listen to music while you write or edit? What kind of music is in your playlist? Let me know in the comments below.

 

8 thoughts on “Amazon Cloud Player Love

    • You’re welcome. Hours and hours and days of music enjoyment. I’ve had the classical album for a couple months now and I’m still not sick of it. Some really good stuff on there.

  1. I use Youtube most of the time. I abuse the crap out of the history function and play lists. If not I listen to the ripped CDs (I do it in case the CDs get damaged) on my media player. And every now and then I listen to J1 (an internet Radio station playing modern Japanese music).

    • You’d probably have to use YouTube considering you love the jujubes out of j-rock and pop. I don’t know if there are any albums available on Amazon via mp3—yet—when it comes to those genres.

What are your thoughts?

