Row80 Check-In Dec. 10th

christmas ornaments

It snowed a little, but nothing Winter Wonderlandish. I promise I’m keeping an eye out. Instead, enjoy this Christmas spirit pic. By the way, if you haven’t done a Christmas Party for your novel, you really should. See what I mean here.

Okay, onto the goals:

  • Write at least 3 short stories intended for publication.  I’ll probably try my hand at several more than three, but the hope is to find three gemstones among the rocks.
    On hiatus.
  • Read the helpful books to prepare me for the editing fest that will be late November early December on SHADE.
    I was able to read a little more Story and I think I have 50 pages or so left of the book. I have a commute on the train home tonight, so I’ll get a little in. I’m really hoping I can polish it off soon and start on Writing the Breakout Novel next.
  • Have read all 201 available Anton Chekhov’s short stories, sprinkled with Hemingway and Bradbury.
    I’ve read 50 of 201 Chekhov short stories. No new progress.
  • Polish SHADE to pure awesomeness.  Pitch Wars has seriously bombed the jujubes out of my Row80 goals, but I don’t mind. I’ve essentially finished all editing for SHADE, but as with every editing session, there were a few holes I discovered I need to plug up. I think I can manage those by Wednesday, and then if I receive more feedback (or a mentor, fingers crossed) I’ll have more editing and polishing to do. A writer’s work is never done. I was hoping to take it from 98,000 to 96 or 97,000, but I think I’m still going to come in just under 98K. Still, I’m happy that it’s under 100K. Anything less sounds so much less and I think that will increase my chances of getting it represented.
  • Don’t Dessert December. Hit or miss. Something I’m trying to do is eating a hefty lunch and perhaps a couple snacks that sneak in throughout the day, then for dinner going light with tons of veggies. We’ll see if that works out for me. Skipping dessert is extremely hard, especially when the BFF brings home Oreo Coconut Delight Cookies. They’re ridiculously good!
  • The Holiday Book Read! Still shanghaied by Pitch Wars, but now that the end is near, I think I may be able to pull a couple more books out of the library—especially over Christmas and New Year’s.

All right, who’s in Pitch Wars and who’s dying of suspense right now? We might learn the results today, so try not to break the refresh button on your inbox. Oh, and do you plan to read any books over the holidays? Which ones?

11 thoughts on “Row80 Check-In Dec. 10th

  1. In theory, I’m reading THE HOLIDAYS ARE HELL. It is a collection of 4 novelettes/novellas from different authors. I say in theory because I haven’t had much time to read recently. I’m still on the first one.

    • Eee! I just read the book description. Probably too scary for my tastes, but let me know how it turns out. Not sure what books I’ll pull from the library. Probably something YA.

  2. I’m hoping to read the Matched trilogy this month, the only things holding me back are a lot of writing and illustrating to do. In the mean time, I’m trying not to let the suspense of pitchwars kill me. I’m trying to look at everything on a positive note, either I’ll get a mentor, or I will drown my sorrows in tasty mugs of hot chocolate. Win win if you ask me. 😉

    Seriously, pitchwars has been a good experience that I’m happy for no matter what the outcome is, but my fingers are still crossed that we all move on to the next round with mentors.

    • Mmm… tasty mugs of hot cocoa. That sounds good for both celebrating and sorrowing. 😉

      Yep, I’m in agreement. Pitch Wars has already done wonders for SHADE and I don’t even know if I’m in or not. Plus most mentors are promising at least a few comments on why it’s a no, if it is, so that’s still a win I think. And some are going to mentor on the side, so there’s every chance that no matter what happens we’ll come out winning. I just hate that they said they might announce today…it’s making it hard to stay away from Twitter and my inbox. I guess Wednesday would promote the same feelings. Oh well, back to work. 😉

  3. Trying to get through Casual Vacancy. Not that it’s a ‘bad book’. There is just so much to do right now and trying to write and read all of these blogs is crazy time consuming, but also…very entertaining and marvelously addicting!! :0)

    • It’s so true. Before being a blogger I wondered how it was people could just sit around and read other people’s blogs all day. Now I know. Hopelessly addicted.

  4. Adding pitch wars to my big list of things to learn more about!

    My favorite dessert is frozen grapes….delicious and guilt free and good for me, too…

    It sounds like you are finishing strong. Hooray for you!

What are your thoughts?

