The Reality Award

Thanks to L. Palmer for nominating my blog for the R.E.A.L.I.T.Y award!

L. Palmer and I met, I think when I stumbled onto her blog. But we became friends when I had the audacity to ask about the delicious ice cream she was about to consume in her profile pic. Mmm… delicious ice cream!

Anyway, I’m hit and miss when it comes to blog chain thingies. Monday is typically reserved for a Row80 update. But this sounded like more fun, so here we are. I will however say I finally got all my stuff together and entered Pitch Wars. I think I’ve got a fair shot. But whatever happens it’s been good to get my query letter polished up and have a deadline to get SHADE ready to go. Even if I don’t gain a mentor, I’m a lot closer to being ready to query this puppy than I was before, and I call that a win. Plus I’ve met some fabulous new writer friends. As far as other Row80 goals, Pitch Wars has overtaken focusing on most of them. I am doing decently with No Treat November, although I suppose now I’ve moved on to Don’t Dessert December. If I can maintain through December I’ll be pretty happy. Now back to the R.E.A.L.I.T.Y award.

REALITY Blog Awards

  1. Display the award logo on your blog.
  2. Link back to the person who nominated you.
  3. Answer the questions.
  4. Pass the award onto to any other bloggers you want — and link to one of their specific posts so that they get notified by ping back.

My Answers to the Questions

If you could change something what would you change?  I kind of like L. Palmer’s idea. Let’s make treats have the same nutritional values and calories as vegetables. Even if it was only on holidays, I’d be pretty contest to eat cookie dough for breakfast that one day and have it count as though I’d eaten broccoli. I have three favorite cookie doughs: oatmeal, chocolate chip, and ginger.

If you could relive one day, when would it be?  Hmmm… lots of good options, but there was this one day in Costa Rica where we snorkeled beside this island that you can walk out to when the tide is low. I think that same day we had some of the best tica food we tasted the whole trip. To finish it off, we went to the beach and sat in a tide pool that kept us level with the ocean as we watched the sunset. Then we ate some amazing dinner, some of it including nachos and fruit bebidas at this restaurant down the road. I could relive that day a few times.

Costa Rica sunset

What’s one thing that really scares you?  Dying without eating dessert first. That’s why I start most meals with a treat. 😉

What one dream have you not completed yet, and do you think you will be able to complete it?  Publishing my novel, and yes I think I’m on the way there. Pitch Wars might be my foot in the door, but if not I’ve got a few other avenues I’m looking into. I’ve been trying for some time, but I don’t think I was ready before. I believe I’m ready now.

If you could be someone else for a day, who would you be?  Lara Croft. I’d love to experience what having that kind of strength and agility would be like. Maybe it would motivate me to get there faster. Plus I’d have a British accent. Hello boys! And treasure hunting like Indiana Jones? Who wouldn’t want that experience, at least for a day?

tomb raider

I hereby optionally pass this award onto:

Mystic Cooking. Mostly because I want to hear your answers, plus we’ll get double answers—one from Kati and one from Heidi. Double the fun! If you haven’t visited the Mystic Cooking blog, you should. Not only do Kati and Heidi have a fantastic novel idea, they are great girls whose blog I always enjoy reading.

Miss Alexandrina. Same as above. She’s a blogging buddy of mine and I’m curious to know what her answers would be. She’s got a great WIP about time travel and broken time.

Gloria Weber. I’m certain she’s got some interesting answers. Let’s have them! Gloria and I keep each other motivated in writing. がんばてね!

Thanks for the nomination. And thanks, L. for helping shake things up.

22 thoughts on “The Reality Award

  1. Somehow I knew you would say Lara Croft. You realize you’d be shot, stabbed, and experience pain like never before, right? When you went back to being Jae, I hope all the wounds stay with Lara. 😉

    Best of luck with Pitch Wars. I’m sending good thougths your way. Have fun. 🙂

    • Meh, most of my trips bring me home with some kind of injury or another. And I usually have my lucky bandana to patch things up. Besides, I’d love to have her gun toting skills.

      Thanks! I’m keeping my fingers crossed for our trio. I think we all have a fair shot. 😀

  2. Me? Really? Well, shucks! 🙂 Tomorrow (Tuesday) morning I’ll hop right to it. It is too dangerously near to Castle starting for me to blog. Y Castle es mi programa favorito de Lunes.

    And cookies as veggies would be awesome. Why can’t we rewrite reality? Stubborn reality.

  3. JAE,
    Pitch Wars formatting question: when they say ‘five pages’ do they mean those five pages after the space between each paragraph has been added in, or the five pages before? Written down, that question now sounds silly, but I want to make sure before I send. 😛
    (I also wasn’t sure where to post this question, so I hope here is fine, even though it’s not about the above post)

    • They want the first five pages before you alter them. As in your manuscript should be typed in the industry standard (which includes being double spaced), but for the contest they want single spaced with a line between paragraphs. Take your normal first five pages and alter them to the contest standard, without adding more. I hope I wrote that in a clear enough way.

      • Umm, a bit. So double-spaced is normal; I take five double-spaced pages and make them single-spaced with paragraph breaks? Or five of the manuscript in single-space with said breaks? Or not..? I’m sorry, I lost you a little.

    • What Brian said–essentially the 5 pages before you change it. Although if it would cut off mid sentence, it’s okay to add the last few words of that particular sentence.

      I wondered about that too because you could squeeze in more story, but in Brenda’s comment section she specified it was pages before the format change.

    • Thanks Patricia! I’m hoping 2013 is the year. I think I’ve improved a lot. I’ve certainly learned a lot. Thanks for being my encouraging friend! 😀

What are your thoughts?

