Row Check-In Nov. 21st

Last night the BFF and I had a bunch of people over for pie night. These are two cinnamon pies we baked for the event. Mmmm….cinnalicious! Other peeps brought pumpkin pie, of course, but we also saw apple, Oreo, Reese’s PB cup, chocolate, and pecan tartlets. Yeah, it was a delicious night. Most pies were homemade, in fact I think only one of the pumpkins wasn’t—though it was from Costco, so still good. So good in fact I had a piece for breakfast. Yeah, I need to exercise today…

The goals:

  • Write at least 3 short stories intended for publication.  I’ll probably try my hand at several more than three, but the hope is to find three gemstones among the rocks.
    On hiatus.
  • Read the helpful books to prepare me for the editing fest that will be late November early December on Shade.
    Progress on Story could be better.  I blame Thanksgiving, although this long weekend will give me time to get things done.
  • Have read all 201 available Anton Chekhov’s short stories, sprinkled with Hemingway and Bradbury.
    I’ve read 50 of 201 Chekhov short stories. Now that I’ve hit 50 I’m switching, probably to Hemingway.
  • Polish SHADE to pure awesomeness.  I’ve made significant progress on this and plant to turn in my 250 words for the first contest later today.
  • No Treat November. As evidenced above, we had pie night last night. Yeah… not so helpful. Tomorrow will be killer. ‘Tis the season though.
  • The Holiday Book Read! I’m planning on using Abandon as break reading and general reading.

Okay, there you have it. Tomorrow there will be a Thanksgiving post but no Friday Flix this week. I really need to work on my novel since that is the point of all this in the first place. I hope you’re able to find some spare time this weekend too.

How about you? Will you have time to write this weekend or will your house be inundated with relatives? Or maybe you’re the one doing the inundating? Happy Thanksgiving! And for those not celebrating Thanksgiving, write a little extra for your fellow American writers who won’t be able to.

25 thoughts on “Row Check-In Nov. 21st

  1. I’ll be cooking the whole Thanksgiving meal at my sister’s. What can I say, I’m the best cook in my family. Yes, polish those first five pages and create an incredible query letter. Now I’ve got to go and tighten up a few scenes in my manuscript. You had me at pumpkin pie for breakfast. Mmmm…pie (I’m saying this in Homer Simpson’s voice, and drooling)! You’re so cool!

    Happy Thanksgiving!

      • Of course the turkey, homemade mac and cheese with four different cheeses, and of course homemade apple pie. I’ll be grilling some asparagus, making mashed potatoes, and whatever else my family throws at me. I had to ask my sister what I’d be making last night. She laughed at me. So there may be a surprise. I never can tell with her.

  2. The plan was to be awesome today, so I could have less regrets about the week that will come to nothing. (Who ever heard of a 5 day weekend?) Then, the school nurse called. Son is back home early with a fever. Thankfully, we stay home for Thanksgiving and sis-in-law has dibs on father-in-law, so it is just us/no cootie cross contaminating.

    • I’m sorry your son has a fever. Being sick is never fun, but especially for the kiddies. Hopefully you’ll find a spare minute to get in a little writing. If not, know that it’s okay if being an awesome mom has to come first. Mommy duties trump all, it’s the law of the universe. That’s why moms are so great. 😀

  3. Excellent pies! If I feel the urge to write I just mute the world out and start typing on my iPhone. How rude, I know, but they’re used to it by now. If I wasn’t typing I would have the glazed over “I’m writing in my head” look that only my parents as husband recognize. They just leave me be when I get that look. I hope your holidays are wonderful! 🙂

  4. Happy Thanksgiving! The cinnamon pies look delicious. We’re having a big Thanksgiving celebration (it’s my favorite holiday), but I’ll have to set aside time for dry, legal writing over the next few days (not exactly the fun stuff).

    • Ugh, dry and legal don’t sound like fun. But I guess someone’s got to do it and we’re glad there’s good people like you willing to. Glad you get to have a big Thanksgiving celebration though. And thanks for dropping by, as always. 😀

  5. Gahh! Those pies look so nice! *wants* (Can’t think of anything relevant other than that). Happy Thanksgiving! Even though we don’t celebrate it here in England… I was only reminded by the fact that it’s my half-American friend’s birthday tomorrow. Anyways, hope whatever you’re doing is awesome!

What are your thoughts?

