Row 80 Check-In Nov. 14th

Fall Leaves

Unfortunately I’ve been unable to find many good pictures of leaves. This is an older one from a hike I went on a month or so ago. I would post winter wonderland pics, but currently we’re in this crusty snow and ugly brown trees stage. I’m not sure what Monday’s picture will yield. Maybe I’ll take a picture of the rabbit I molded from Babybel cheese wax. So there it is, you can look forward to a wax rabbit or snow depending on the weather. I know some of you will secretly be hoping for the wax rabbit. I can’t help but fashion those kinds of things into something, it’s just how my brain is wired.

On to the update:

  • Write at least 3 short stories intended for publication.  I’ll probably try my hand at several more than three, but the hope is to find three gemstones among the rocks.
    No progress right now. I’ve been prepping the first 250 words of Shade for a contest. Once I’ve got it ready, I’ll get back to the short stories.
  • Read the helpful books to prepare me for the editing fest that will be late November early December on Shade.
    I’m making pretty good progress with this. It really comes down to getting on the train and getting it done. I’m halfway through Story and then On Writing will be next. Story is still pretty awesome. And as usual, I’m posting little nuggets of Robert McKee wisdom on Twitter. Enjoy!
  • Have read all 201 available Anton Chekhov’s short stories, sprinkled with Hemingway and Bradbury.
    I’ve read 43 of 201 Chekhov short stories.
  • Once December hits, tear Shade apart and polish it to pure awesomeness!  Shade’s first page is out and being polished. You’d be surprised how little and at the same time how much 250 words are. You really have to make them count if it’s all you get. Hopefully I can give myself a fighting chance with this contest.
  • No Treat November. Still about 50/50 successful, but I’m glad to be making any kind of progress, even if it ends up only being maintain until Thanksgiving. Maintaining through the holidays is a special feat of its own.
  • The Holiday Book Read! Started Abandon. I’m intrigued, but a little annoyed with how long it’s taking the story to just get to the point. She keeps talking about how this amazing thing happened to her and death, but doesn’t tell me what the amazing thing is. I’m not that far in though, so I’m still intrigued enough to keep going. I’m just proud I got one book in already! Woot!

For those of you not participating in Row80, all good. You can post your progress here. How are you coming on your Fall goals? Progress since last we chatted? What books are you currently reading or have recently finished? Are you losing motivation for your goals or are you on goal fire?

12 thoughts on “Row 80 Check-In Nov. 14th

  1. Okay, so here’s a leaf story for you. I find ginko leaves every once in a while in the fall leaves scattered about my neighborhood. I have walked and driven every which way looking at the tree(s)/their source. I can’t find it. Like the leaf gremlins are playing a trick on me, or some thing.

    Anyways, you are doing tons you didn’t plan (at least that is how it seems to me). Taking that into account, you are rocking those goals. Keep chugging away!

    • ありたごう! I’m trying. At least the goals are moving me forward, even if I feel like I’m at the tortuga’s pace. I’m glad I have good blogger buddies to move me along. 😀

  2. It seems like you’re coming along with your goals. Glad to see you are reading more. I’ve been doing the same. I’ll read fiction for a few hours then switch to a writing book.

    My goals have changed, yet again. There’s this big contest coming up with agents and stuff, so I’m going to be ready just in case any of them are looking for what I have. If I can get into the contest, the small press submissions will be pushed to the side. Good thing I already have a synopsis and query letter ready to go. Boo-ya!

    Keep moving forward. Who knows, maybe I’ll see you in the contest? We can so cheer each other on. 😉

    • Yeah, I think I’m going to do it. Technically I have until Dec. 12th to come up with an ending. But in the meantime I’m going to pull Shade out and go through it like I would be anyway. I only wish I’d finished all my writing books first. I guess there’s still December and during the coaching I can do all this and make it better. Maybe it’s better for me to have deadlines for a reason. I seem to work better that way. Cheers!

      • Hey, Jae, I just found out via Twitter that there is at least one mentor looking for adult horror/fantasy. I’m in. Let’s all get us an agent! May the odds be ever in your favor, or something like that. 🙂

        • Oh sheesh, don’t say it like that. That means we have to kill each other in the end. 😉 Glad you’ll be in the game. Wouldn’t it be sweet if 2013 was the year we all got agents? 😀

        • Even if we don’t, we’re making connections with literary professionals and other writers. That, to me, makes it worth it. The whole agent thing is icing on the cake.

          And no, the same agents wouldn’t be looking at our stuff. So we can still cheer each other on. Check out the hashtag #PitchWars to see what the mentors are looking for a little early. I guess Kati and Heidi better back on Twitter! I’ve also seen a few mentors say they’ve been stalking blogs looking for samples. Good thing I already have a chapter posted. I learned that from Janet Reid, to have a sample chapter and contact info visible on your blog. You never know who may take a look.

          The funny thing is, I wouldn’t have known Shelley Watters was looking for adult submissions if I hadn’t Tweeted about it. Another reason how Twitter has helped me in less than a week. Gotta get back to editing.

        • Geh! Get a chapter on my blog. All right, guess I’ll get on it. I’ve just been waiting for the polished version to be ready first. Sample chapter here I come.

What are your thoughts?

