Row80 Check-In Nov 7th

I’m really going to miss these leaves. They’re already starting to disappear, although many trees are still very beautiful. My goals:

  • Write at least 3 short stories intended for publication.  I’ll probably try my hand at several more than three, but the hope is to find three gemstones among the rocks.
    Trick or Tree got its final feedback session. Not as red as I thought, and my editor friend gave me a few good suggestions to tighten it up. I’ll probably focus on getting Trick or Treeready this week and submit it to the Writer’s Digest Short Short Story Contest. Keep your fingers crossed for me, will ya?Dog Shy I finished this morning, but I can’t decide how I feel about the ending. I’m not sure if I want it to be nefarious or sweet. Decisions, decisions. Maybe spending time on Trick or Tree will help me decide. I’m thinking nefarious might be better…
  • Read the helpful books to prepare me for the editing fest that will be late November early December on Shade.
    Life events have been kind of crazy and I had my parents visiting from out of town, so helpful books have not really been read. I intend to remedy this from today on out. I really want to finish Story so I can get to On Writing and eventually Donald Maass’s two books.
  • Have read all 201 available Anton Chekhov’s short stories, sprinkled with Hemingway and Bradbury.
    I’ve read 32 of 201 Chekhov short stories. It can barely be called progress. I really need to take the train and leave the car at home!
  • Once December hits, tear Shade apart and polish it to pure awesomeness!  I’m going to pull Shade‘s Chapter One out early for a contest with the Gotham Writers’ Workshop. It’s YA only. You can submit your title and the first 250 words of your novel. If you win you get a full manuscript submit with NY agent Regina Brooks. I think the top 5 get a one-on-one with her. Either way, I think it’s worth trying. Shade will come out after Trick or Tree is all finished and entered.
  • No Treat November. Thusfar has been wholly unsuccessful, but yesterday I finally got on target, and I’m working for it today as well. It isn’t very easy. I think the problem is I used to cook all the time and take the leftovers for work, now I’m just scrambling for whatever I can find in the fridge or at the store. Oh well, No Treat November continues. I’m using MyFitnessPal to help. I lost 15 pounds two years ago with it, and was able to maintain those lost for another year. I’ve gained 10 back now. It’s my laziness in eating habits really, since exercise hasn’t changed that much. Back to MFP I go!
  • The Holiday Book Read! Okay, I felt like I needed to at least snag a couple books from the library to shake things up. Plus I’ve been reading a lot of your blogs and you mention all the books you’re reading and I got jealous. So yesterday I picked up Pretties by Scott Westerfield and Abandon by Meg Cabot. I’ll check in with a short review when I finish them. I’m thinking sometime next week or the week after (due to time, not my reading pace).

It’s odd, things feel like they’re on track even though as I look over my goals they aren’t as on track as I’d like. I have to admit, I recently took a strengths test that I think Gallup sponsors. What was my top strength? Can you guess? When I name it a few of you blogger buddies I know won’t be surprised in the least. Ready? POSITIVITY. Yeah, are you surprised?

Anyways, how are you guys doing with your goals, be they Row80, NaNo or otherwise? We have to keep each other motivated, so let me know in the comments below.

18 thoughts on “Row80 Check-In Nov 7th

  1. I have been reading more and sticking with it. I finished The Secret of the Dragon, by Margaret Weiss and Tracy Hickman, and now I’m halfway through The Twelve, by Justin Cronin. I’ve also been reading Writing the Breakout Novel, by Donald Maass, to expand my writing horizons.

    I’ve got WIP progress too. Even though a small press recently rejected Eden, the editor said it had nothing to do with the quality. They are more of a Sci-Fi/Fantasy press and my manuscript was a little too horror for them. The more I think about it, the better I feel. So I’ve been inspired to make it stronger and I’m editing…again. The plan is to have it ready for submission to another small press (more on the horror side) in January. Not only that, but the sequel has gotten some TLC too. Donald Maass has me excited to write again.

    Did I mention I wrote a Things I Love post today? Inspiration seems to be in the air. Or maybe it’s positivity? 😉

    Hey, good luck with the Gotham Writers’ Workshop contest. No disrespect to any of the other entrants, but I’m going to be totally biased and root for you. The same goes for the short story contest. You’ve worked hard and deserve to soak in the spoils of victory. Go, Jae, go!

    • I saw the pingback this morning, I’m about to head over and read the post. Thanks for the pingback love, btw. I’m glad my positivity got you writing a post. 😀

      Yeah, I’m excited to work on my WIP too and hearing how fired up you are from Donald Maass’ book, I’m sure I’m going to be exploding with an eagerness to work too. If you don’t have time to read Story, maybe I’ll send you my working worksheet of things he says to do once it’s completed. I’m just making notes of pages in the book of where he mentions things we should be doing. I’m sure some of it if not all is in Don’s book, but it’s always good to hear it in multiple ways.

      Thanks for the cheerleading. I still have the occasional days where I’m not sure if anything I’m doing is any good, and on those days I remember what my writer friends have told me and I press forward.

  2. My goals are going fantabulous. But deciding to do a whole bunch of making today (more red bean paste and danpatbbang) was probably a bad choice. Should have split it. (spent writing time kneading dough).

    I use My Fitness Pal to figure out how many calories I burned in an exercise (stopped tracking other stuff for various reasons). It also helped me lose close to 20 pounds, though i have lots more to go (though I keep trying to add fat since winter is coming… I subconsciously want to be the first human to hibernate).

    No goals are ever done perfectly. I think you are right to think you are on track. Keep up the great work!

    • I just have to say that I love those leaves. They are my fave “color,” a rough mix of pinks and orangy-peaches. Beautiful! And good luck with your editing. The Fire in Fiction was the most help to me–before I got my Buzz editor.

      • @Lucie Aren’t fall leaves the best? I agree, these are among my favorites too. They come from a kwanzan cherry tree, which puts out these fabulous pink blossoms in the spring that kind of look like carnations. When I own a home, I’m planting a kwanzan cherry tree for sure!

        Thanks for the good luck cheer. I have Fire in the Fiction, so I’m eager to see what it gives me now knowing it helped you.

    • @Gloria Sometimes it’s good to just cook or do some other hobby and take a break from writing. Besides, you have lots of good eats to show for it. Better than sitting down and playing a vid game.

      I have to count calories when I’m serious about shedding pounds. Plus it gives me an idea of where I’m going overboard. And I like it because if there are calories left over, I find a treat to use them up with. 😀

      Thanks for your encouragement. It’s great to be around fellow writers like you. 🙂

  3. Good luck with Trick or Tree 🙂 I’ll keep my fingers crossed. Is there a way to get the audio for Chekhov’s stories? That way if you drive you can still listen to them. It counts as reading! Over the last little bit I’ve gone back to using MyFitnessPal as well. The nice thing about using that is that it syncs with my Fitbit. Hehe. Don’t knock being Positive 😉

    • That would make it easier huh? Well, except I really do need to be on the train. It saves me $$$ in gas and I read other things too while on there. Plus I think I need to see the words to help with my writing vs. just hearing them. It’s just that way for me. But it’s not a bad suggestion.

      I think my positivity is what’s gotten me through life thusfar. Sometimes I wonder if I could have made it otherwise without that strength to pull me through.

  4. Great goals and keep going with them. I’m having a good streak at the moment. You have good streaks and bad ones – it’s how it works. Cut yourself some slack. x

  5. Love your goals. I just read two great books that I want to write about in one blog (The Marriage Plot by Jeffrey Eugenides and Leaving the the World by David Kennedy). Also in between editing Trails in the Sand, I’ve finally started reading A Moveable Feast by Hemingway. I’ve never really been one of his fans, but this book is filled with a wealth of tidbits on the writing process. So on to the edits. My goal is to have it to the editor tomorrow.

    • A Moveable Feast huh? I wonder if that’s in my big heavy Hemingway book. I’ll have to check it out. You should do a few posts on editing. Seems like many aspiring writers hate that process. I’ve come to love it. How do you feel about it? Did you hate it but now love it? Still hate it?

  6. I love the excitement in your goals and progress, the leaves, and the art and Twitter tags on your side margins….

    You have inspired me, in several ways. =D

    I also enjoy editing, because it lets me linger and delight in stories I haven’t generally seen for a while.

    Positiviity is a pretty big factor in my life, too!

    Happy writing! =D

What are your thoughts?

