Liebster Award Nomination

One of my very good blogger friends nominated me for the Liebster Award, and I figured today was as good a day as any to respond.  Thank you Daphne, and here goes!

1. What is a quote or passage from a novel that you found inspiring or beautiful enough to highlight or make note of?

If you want to know what a man’s like, take a good look at how he treats his inferiors, not his equals. -Sirius Black, Goblet of Fire

I know, who doesn’t love Harry Potter, but this was the first quote that came to mind. And I really do believe you can get the measure of a man or woman watching how they treat whom they believe are inferior to themselves.

Something I love about this series is it can reach all levels, kids to adults. She’s weaved the more mature themes in with the kid stuff, and as Harry gets older, the more apparent the mature themes become. We want to save Harry from having to experience any of it, all the while forgetting this is what makes him who he is. That’s not to advocate that we purposely expose kids to difficult things, but rather that we don’t forget the strength and courage of children. It’s okay if they learn a little about the harshness of life. In Harry’s case he had no choice, but I do think society does children a disservice treating them like infants—in some cases until they’re 25 years old. That’s one thing that really draws me to YA fiction, is that kids are often more courageous than the adults around them and they can be, given the chance.

2. If you could go back in time and steal someone’s story and write it yourself what would it be?

Like Daphne, I wouldn’t. It’s not my story, I wouldn’t give it the passion it deserved to have been written in the first place. Besides, wouldn’t that create a time paradox? Instead I might travel back in time and speak to some writers I admire, like Ernest Hemingway who was long gone before I got here.

3. What fictional character from any book is on your “If you were real I’d want to punch you in the face” list?

I really want to say Umbridge from Order of the Phoenix, but since I already did Harry Potter, I’m going to go with James Taggert from Atlas Shrugged. That guy is pure cowardly slime and was just fine going along with the destruction of society so long as he was in with the in crowd. He also didn’t mind taking credit for Dagny’s efforts, another reason I’d punch him in the face.

4. Is there anything that you CAN’T blog about but really, really want to?

Maybe a few things, but I don’t see how they’d add to the conversation in a positive way and there are enough people out there doing it anyway. I’d rather spend my time encouraging and uplifting others rather than expressing controversial opinions. Besides, part of me thinks blogging about those kinds of things is like asking for validation on my opinions. Not interested. So I guess in a sense, no.

5. If you were to put a negative trait from yourself into one of your characters, what would that bad trait be?

I probably already do if we’re being honest here. Maybe jumping to worst case scenario conclusions before having all the facts. I feel like I’m getting better at it, but I used to really assume the worst of people when bad things happened instead of giving them the benefit of the doubt. Sometimes my assumption turned out right, which probably fueled that belief, but I’m leaning more toward benefit of the doubt these days.

As is the case with things, I suppose I should nominate three others, so here goes:

Mystic Cooking – These girls are fabulous and so is their WIP Mystic Cooking. Check out their blog and see how co-writing a book happens.

Alice Janell – I just like reading her blog, what can I say. She’s a fellow Whovian who lives in Okinawa—one of my favorite places I’ve ever traveled to.

Say It Once with April Locklear – Just someone I’ve recently gotten to know on the blogosphere, and whom I’d like to hear her answers to these questions.

Thanks again Daphne for the nomination. I really only do these because of you and I like to see how you answer them too.

6 thoughts on “Liebster Award Nomination

  1. Aww, thanks, Jae, for the nomination! I love the Sirius Black quote, too – he was such a complex character because even though he truly believed that, he still treated Kreacher terribly, and yet it was totally understandable. And don’t worry, I’ll punch Umbridge for you… 😉

What are your thoughts?

