Row80 Check-In Oct 24

All right guys, I’m a little late with my Row80 check-in, but I got a little distracted, you see, by this:

Yeah, I’ve probably watched it a dozen or so times already.  At this point I’m good with Iron Man 7, but I guess we’ll see how we progress with Iron Man 3.  And then, just as I was sitting to write down my progress, I got a little distracted with this:

Unfortunately it isn’t playing in my city… yet.  We tend to like these kinds of films here in Utah, so I won’t be surprised if it gets here soon.  Now with that out of the way, I can finally share a delightful fall picture from the complex where I live.

jae scribbles fall leaves

And now, the goals:

  • Write at least 3 short stories intended for publication.  I’ll probably try my hand at several more than three, but the hope is to find three gemstones among the rocks.I’m currently on draft #3 of the short story tentatively titled Magic Color Tree.  Although it’s a placeholder title, but I think it’s growing on me.  We’ll see as drafts progress with this little baby.No new short stories yet, but I think with a few drafts on MCT I’m ready to move on to new ideas.
  • Read the helpful books to prepare me for the editing fest that will be late November early December on Shade.

    One of my favorite quotes from this week’s reading is: “If exposition is a scene’s sole justification, a disciplined writer will trash it and weave its information into the story elsewhere.”  (I occasionally tweet quotes as I’m reading and sign them -RM)  Also I feel like I’m building a solid check list for things to improve on Shade when the time approaches.  Still haven’t received King’s On Writing in the mail yet, but I’ve got plenty of Robert McKee reading to keep me busy.
  • Have read all 201 available Anton Chekhov’s short stories from ibiblio, sprinkled with Hemingway and Bradbury.

    I’ve read 16 of 201 Chekhov short stories.  Been a busy week and usually I ride the train to work, but had to drive in for a couple events.  Since they don’t recommend I read while driving…
  • Once December hits, tear Shade apart and polish it to pure awesomeness!  Coming in December…

I took Magic Color Tree to my writer’s group last night and got some good feedback, both constructive and encouraging.  It’s interesting sometimes getting feedback from multiple sources, because if they all have a pattern then you know there’s a problem you must fix no matter how resistant you are to it initially.  The sign of a true writer, I think, is fixing it in a way that satisfies the concern, but doesn’t necessarily follow on the line every suggestion you were given.

How about you?  Any progress on your goals since Monday?  Any new and exciting news?  You know I love the new and exciting news, so dish!

5 thoughts on “Row80 Check-In Oct 24

  1. “The sign of a true writer, I think, is fixing it in a way that satisfies the concern, but doesn’t necessarily follow on the line every suggestion you were given.” I. Couldn’t. Agree. More.

    What I like so much about this statement is the confidence of the writer to know there may be an issue, but they don’t need to follow someone else’s suggestion verbatim. When I critique, I try to suggest different things hoping my partner won’t just take one suggestion and plug it in, but think about the same scene or sentence in a different light and come up with a fix they are comfortable with. Sometimes a suggestion makes perfect sense and I’ll plug it right in, but other times I’ll put my spin on a suggestion in order to get a hybrid fix. Sorry about the rambling, but you struck a chord (in a good way). 😉

    I finished Secret of the Dragon and am now reading The Twelve by Justin Cronin. I started adding that layer of depth to Eden too. I believe I’m ready to go deeper down the rabbit hole than I’ve ever been before. Only time will tell. I’m going to get Robet McKee’s book because I love the quotes, and it seems like I NEED to read it. Thanks Jae!

    • He’ll blow your mind, will probably make you feel inadequate, but then gives you the tools to come out stronger. This is my second-ish time reading Story (the first was most of it and then pieces). It seriously should be every storyteller’s bible.

  2. I saw the Iron Man 3 trailer the other afternoon. My husband was walking by and stopped mid-step and watched it with me. It was very WOW. Can’t wait for it to come out.

    Sadly, the only way I see cool movies like the second trailer you put up is by DVD. I do hope it comes to a theater near you, though.

    Sounds like you are doing good with your goals. Keep it up! 🙂

  3. Sounds like you’re making good progress. Excellent. I think you’re right about the feedback. You shouldn’t make every change suggested but if you see a pattern in the feedback, that most likely indicates an area to be looked it. You can’t make everyone happy but you can make a darn good story. Good luck this week 🙂

What are your thoughts?

