A Post About Nothing

This is the first time this has happened for me.  I couldn’t think of a thing I wanted to write about.

Sure, there were plenty of things I could write about.  Suggestions, future post ideas, the weather, a new cookie I found at the grocery that’s totally awesome—but none of them came to the front.  In fact, as I’m typing this I’m not really sure where it’s going, so here’s a post that’s riding 100% on faith.

I love writing.  I think passionately.  They say if you love something passionately you’re willing to endure anything to keep on loving it.  Pain doesn’t frighten you, hard work doesn’t frighten you, humiliation doesn’t frighten you—you’re going to keep on loving it.  In fact, at least in the case of writing, if you’re passionate enough about it you’ll keep doing it even if it means you’re only ever doing it for free the rest of your life.

But let’s be realistic.  Most of us aren’t independently wealthy and can’t often pour that much time and energy into something for free—at least not as much time and energy as we’d like.  However, it’s a balance for most of us.  We don’t write for the fame and fortune, but we wouldn’t mind a little bit of success streaming our way.

And there’s nothing wrong with earning income writing.  After all, it’s a free market trade.  I have created something of value, if people feel they’re okay spending $5 or $10 or whatever to obtain what I created, they’ll give me money for it.  If not, the fault lies with me.

I’ve been reading Robert McKee’s Story lately and the first part of the book he laments the loss of really great writers out there.  And even if you think you’re a great writer, you’re probably not, at least in that if you are agents will be busting down your door to get to you.

Yeah, so if that isn’t happening… you might be good, just not quite yet great.

Mr. McKee talks about the more we get mediocre and less than mediocre stories filling up the airspace, the more society degrades—even going so far as to suggest that’s the whole reason society is degrading.  He didn’t write this book last year.

The point is, it’s us.  It’s the storytellers that can shape and change the world.  Not often because we set out to change the world, but because we’re filled with stories.  We can’t help it.  But just because we see something amazing in our heads doesn’t mean we’re suddenly great writers.

But it also doesn’t mean we can’t one day be great writers. If we’re passionate, we’ll get there. It may take 100 drafts, 100 ideas or 100 rejection letters, but if we have the passion we’ll get there.

So, what do you think? Do you have the passion? What do you write for? How was this post about nothing? Let me know below.

image

One of those Hawaiian rainbows. I figured it's good passion fuel.

5 thoughts on “A Post About Nothing

  1. I think this is a great post about nothing!! Except…it’s not about nothing. It’s about stories, and passion, and determination, and encouragement.
    And I think that you ultimately summed up every writer’s reason to right when you said, “The point is, it’s us. It’s the storytellers that can shape and change the world.”
    Because isn’t that why we all write? To touch someone? Even if it’s one single person and we don’t make a dime doing it. We just want our words to shape, and move, and change everything they come across.

  2. I’m glad to know I’m not the only one who comes up with “nothing.” This isn’t nothing, you know. You make some good points. Writing mostly makes me feel good. It doesn’t feel great when someone criticizes my baby, but still the passion drives me to continue. I strive for greatness but you’re right. Even the greatest writers probably never thought they were great from what I’ve read. I settle for satisfaction and then move on to the next story hoping I learned something from writing the last. Thanks for your post about nothing – I found something:)

What are your thoughts?

