Row80 Check In Oct 17

jae fall leaves

I hiked in the canyon a little while ago for the sole purpose of finding beautiful Fall leaves.  I think I’ll post some of my Fall delights as I’m checking in.

Now on to the important stuff.  The goals:

  1. Write at least 3 short stories intended for publication.  I’ll probably try my hand at several more than three, but the hope is to find three gemstones among the rocks.
    Finished the first draft of my short story.  Its word count is a little longer than a certain contest I’m hoping to enter, but perhaps with editing I can bring it under the 1500 word limit.
  2. Read the helpful books to prepare me for the editing fest that will be late November early December on Shade.
    Received The Fire in Fiction in the mail and read the intro, but I think I’m still too close to Shade right now to ponder so deeply about it.  Instead I decided to read Story and have the fundamentals fresh in my mind.  I also plan to tweet good lines I read, all signed RM for Robert McKee.
  3. Have read all 201 available Anton Chekhov’s short stories from ibiblio, sprinkled with Hemingway and Bradbury.
    I’ve read 7 of 201 Chekhov short stories.  No Hemingway or Bradbury probably until after Chekhov or if I need a break.
  4. Once December hits, tear Shade apart and polish it to pure awesomeness!  Coming in December…

I have to admit I finished my short story in a lazy sort of way, but it’s a rough draft all the same and it’s easier to improve on something than nothing.  I’ve had time to think about parts of it that probably make less sense, so I think as I’m able to tighten it up I may meet the word count as well as create a more succinct short story.

How about you blog buddies?  Do you have Fall goals you’re working on?  What about you fellow Row80-ers?  Do you like setting goals?  If so, what do you like about them?  Let me know below.

14 thoughts on “Row80 Check In Oct 17

  1. I just completed one of my goals. I submitted Eden to a small press. I also plan on reading more books for the next few months, even in genres I normally don’t read. I’ve borrowed one of my sister’s paranormal romance books. I don’t know what to expect, but George R. R. Martin suggests you read every genre. I guess my goal should be to finish it. Other than that, I’m waiting to hear back from Harper Voyager. If nothing comes from that, then I’m going to hire a seasoned editor and we’re going to work on Eden as a team. I feel like I’m in limbo with all this waiting. I suppose I should write something, but the urge isn’t there…yet.

    I’m still waiting for that fall post where you tell us about where this love of fall comes from. Yep…still…waiting. 😉

    • Nice work! I’ll keep my fingers x’d for ya. Paranormal romance though…. yikes.

      A post about fall leaves…. hmm… I had considered it, but I don’t know. I’m still not sure what tomorrow’s post will bring. That’s certainly a possibility, but doesn’t quite feel like the right post. Still, I have something in reserve if I need. 😀 Thanks!

  2. Lazy way or not, your draft is done. That’s the key point. As they like to say, you can’t edit what isn’t written yet. So congrats there. I like settings goals. It gives me a check list to work against or something to work toward. Everyone need purpose in their lives, or at least I do 😉

  3. It’s great that you have your draft done. Now comes the hard part (at least for me): edits and revisions!

    I tend to have two projects going, because edits are so tedious for me. If I edit x amount of pages, then I get to write on a new wip.

    Good luck with your short stories!

    • I used to feel the same way about editing, but now I love it. I hold onto old stuff so I can see how far I’ve come. It’s invigorating! Editing is only frustrating for me when I feel like it’s as good as I can make it and there’s no more helpful feedback.

  4. I’m reading *SOMETHING WICKED THIS WAY COMES* by Ray Bradbury right now & loving it! I’ll have to check out the other authors you mentioned as well. Always looking for stuff I haven’t already read!

    Just recently started delving into books on writing, & am currently working through *PLOT & STRUCTURE* by james Scott Bell (part of the *Write Great Fiction* series). It’s really done a number on me & I’m jazzed to think I might actually have a WIP worth completing.

    As Ryan pointed out, it’s wonderful to have a completed “something” under your belt. I look forward to having that kind of problem, lolz!

    • Editing is its own unique challenge, trust me. A lot of people hate it, but if you can somehow comprehend that editing takes you from mediocre writer to decent writer and that more editing takes you from decent writer to good writer (and so on) then it should eventually become a very fulfilling process. At least that’s been my experience.

  5. I’m finishing up edits on the second draft of novel. I thought I was close to being done until my editor suggested a change in point of view for several chapters. So that’s my goal this fall in addition to taking some outstanding wildlife and nature photographs! Thanks for sharing yours and my best to you.

  6. I have aa lot of goals for the fall, but I would say that mine and Heidi’s main goal is to get the first draft of Mystic Cooking book 2 done. Good job with your goals so far. Endings are always tricky, especially for short stories.

    • The ending-ending I like, just not the part between the halfway mark to the ending. But yeah, for Shade, the ending… TBD…

      Are you having beta readers go through Mystic Cooking 1 then?

What are your thoughts?

