Row80 Late Check-In

For Row80 we’re supposed to check-in Sundays and Wednesdays, but I’m a creature of habit, which means I’m used to only blogging Monday through Friday.  I have to have that weekend break.  So I know, a little unconventional, but since we all have our different processes I’m going to have to do early Monday morning for a check-in.  I hope that’s all right.

On the goals:

  1. Write at least 3 short stories intended for publication.  I’ll probably try my hand at several more than three, but the hope is to find three gemstones among the rocks.
    I’ve got most of one short story written, something fun.  I’m a little worried it’s going to go over this 1,500 word limit a certain contest I’m eying has, but I suppose I can always edit or just save it for another contest.
  2. Read the helpful books to prepare me for the editing fest that will be late November early December on Shade.
    Forgot to bring the books with me on the train.  It was kind of a busy, hectic morning.  I’ll set a reminder to shove one in my bag when I get home from work tonight.
  3. Have read all 201 available Anton Chekhov’s short stories from ibiblio, sprinkled with Hemingway and Bradbury.
    I’ve read four of Chekhov’s stories.  Some I’ve liked, some were just okay, but despite the actual story I’m really enjoying looking at the overall structure.  I think reading his stories has already helped.
  4. Once December hits, tear Shade apart and polish it to pure awesomeness!  Coming soon…

I’m pretty pleased with my progress so far.  I was also glad I managed to pull myself out of bed this morning and write.  I’ve missed it.  Sayonara cold!

Until Wednesday!

6 thoughts on “Row80 Late Check-In

  1. If that’s how you need to check-in, there’s no problem with that 🙂 Remember, ROW fits your life and not the other way around. You are doing well! I haven’t really heard much about #wordmongering. I’ve seen Julie Scott use it quite often but I didn’t know what it was. I’ll check it out though.

    • It’s easy enough. You start on the :00, write until the :30 and check in with your progress. You’re supposed to take a break between the :30 and the next :00, but I don’t always follow that rule. You can keep doing as many sessions as you like, traditionally on your final session you post how much progress you made overall. (Like if session 1 was 374 words and session 2 was 210 words, then total of 584 words that day). Kinda fun and definitely motivating for me.

  2. I think a lot of people don’t get around to reading blogs until Monday anyway, so go for those Monday check-ins! I’m the same way with my schedule, only mine is to write blogs on Sunday (and schedule them), so it works for me. Good progress and keep up the good work!

What are your thoughts?

