Hawaii Lessons: Dare to Be Courageous

We did a lot of crazy adventurous things in Hawaii, but I think for me this one trumps them all.  On the Big Island, one of the coolest things you can do is a night snorkel/dive with the manta rays.  If I’m not mistaken, Hawaii is one of the few places you can do it.  Anyways, it’s usually quite an expensive feat, for snorkelers around $125—no guarantees that you’ll actually see any manta rays.

And how did we do it?  Well, for free of course, with extra danger.  Several people do swim out from shore once the commercial boats have arrived with paying customers and shine their bright lights below to attract the manta rays.  We decided to take it one step more dangerous.  If you leap off a short cliff from a certain part of the shoreline you save yourself at least 10 minutes of swimming.

We scouted it out during the day, finding the exact spot thanks to ShoreDiving.com and returned the next day under cover of darkness.  Because I’m an avid scuba diver, I have a waterproof flashlight—our only savior for this escapade.  We brought a boogie board and kick board with us as well to float with in case anyone got tired or panicked.

manta ray dive pic

Doesn’t look so scary off in the distance during the day…

As I peer down off the cliff, the waves crashing hard against the rocks, in my mind I imagine a broken leg, skull, arm, etc.  You may recall from a few posts ago the last time I decided to do something dangerous I needed stitches.  Since the memory of having a limb bashed against rocks by water is still fresh in my mind, I look over at the BFF and shake my head.  I can’t do this.

jae litandscribbles

“That’s okay,” she says, pulling on fins and snorkel gear.  She steps off the cliff with the confidence of Iron Man, splashing into the ocean below.  We toss her down the boogie board so she can stay afloat without treading water.  No sense in wasting energy.  The second girl follows.  As the third is getting ready I realize this is the moment of truth.  Go or don’t go must be decided in this moment.

I’m terrified, but I know what I’ll be missing out on if I don’t go.  “If you’re not going, I’ll need your flashlight,” says the third girl.

“Come on, Jae, you can totally do this!” the BFF calls encouragingly from below.  “We’ll help you know when to jump!”

“I’m coming,” I tell the third girl and she jumps.  With trembling hands, I strap my snorkel fins on, put my mask over my face, and step up to the ledge.  Legs quaking, I wait for the call to go.  “Not yet!” they cry from below.  I watch the water crashing against the cliffs and try to focus on the possibility of seeing manta rays instead.

“Now!”

I step out and water surrounds me.  Upon surfacing, I’m happily welcomed to the boogie board with the others, and we start our swim out to the boats already loading their snorkelers into the water.  The board is a comforting security and my nerves from the jump calm quickly.  The water isn’t as cold as I’d expected either, which is a big plus.

We make it over to the snorkelers and catch our first glimpse of the majestic manta ray.  For those confused about the difference, sting rays are the dangerous ones, manta rays are gentle and I don’t think they’ve ever killed anyone.  They open their mouths wide, somersaulting in the water, filling themselves with plankton attracted by the bright lights.  Only one graced us with its presence tonight, but one is awesome enough.

manta ray

After getting our fill of manta ray, we decided to head back before the boats left.  I shined the flashlight ahead so we could watch for reef and we swam to shore.  It’s a little tough getting out of the water, but we made it, thrilled with our somewhat dangerous, but free experience.  We saw a manta ray!  How awesome is that?!

I think I’ve mentioned before one of the hardest decisions I ever had to make writing-wise was to rewrite Shade.  It turned into quite a revamp that I’m still in the middle of, but I’ve already seen changes that I really like and it’s been worth it.  I knew it was something I had to do, but standing at the cliff of decision, I didn’t think I could handle going through so much work again on something I’d already poured years into.  I took the leap of faith.  I dared to be courageous, and it’s gotten me a much better story.

But something that helped me jump off those cliffs, both literal and figurative was the support of good friends.  Just like I had a group of friends waiting below in Hawaii, I’ve got a great group of friends here online as well as IRL that have helped me move forward with Shade.  Thanks to people like Daphne, Brian, family, the BFF, and my writing group I’ve been able to make the leap I needed to make and I think in the end I’ll get to see the majestic manta ray in a better story and hopefully success.

I encourage you to dare to be courageous.  As in my other posts, dare to be creative, dare to press forward, dare to start this writing journey and see it through.

What have you dared to do lately?  Were there any decisions you made over your WIP that felt like leaping off a cliff?  Has it worked out better for you?  Let me know below.

jae manta ray litandscribbles

7 thoughts on “Hawaii Lessons: Dare to Be Courageous

  1. I’m so glad you jumped. If you can get through that, you can get through anything. I truly believe you’re on your way. Posts like this are why you’ll bask in the glow of success. And how cool was the manta ray? Way better than a sea horse. You’re nearing the finish line with SHADE. Keep going. You can do it. I believe in you, we all do. If you need anything, even if it’s only someone to cheer you on, I’ll be there. Just don’t expect pom-poms. Now that I think about it, my sister did get some last year from a hockey game. I guess I could borrow them if you really wanted. 🙂

    • I may have to do a scribble of that, lol.

      This morning I made it to the last or second to last chapter (I’m kind of discovery writing the rest of this, since I wasn’t sure how it was going to end, I’m just letting my characters take me there). I’m looking forward to crossing the finish line for this part. SHADE will be going into cold storage while I read a few books, probably Don Maass’ Breakout Novel and Robert McKee’s story. I’ll make notes on what needs to happen or be looked at for when I pull SHADE out to be polished.

      I think I may do short stories for a little while too. And of course I’ll be able to pay more attention to blogging, maybe even plan some things out. There’s been some interesting changes that have come out of this rewrite. I have a vague plan of how I want the whole series to turn out, and I’ll have to make changes to Book 2, which is partly written, but I’m good with that. I think things are moving forward in a positive way, even if it’s taking more time than I’d like. Better not to rush it I suppose.

      And as always, thanks for your support! 🙂

  2. Wow! Sounds exciting! When I was younger I had a best friend who pretty much dared me to push my boundaries, and be brave when I wanted to chicken out. It was a lot of fun, and I always look back on those times with a lot of affection. It’s definitely a time I draw from when I’m running out of ideas for both my writing and my drawing.

    By the way, I love your pictures!

  3. That’s totally cool! I’m glad you jumped. 😉
    It’s amazing to me how hard and long the creation of a novel takes. Okay, not so much, it makes sense to me. I think what amazes me, is how people think you’re mental when you tell them it takes more than a year to get it written, perfected, and published (even if its your first novel).
    Because of that, I think positive support is made even more important.

    • Yeah, I have to explain to people that even when I get an agent, it will at least be another year after that before my book is in print with all it takes—at least in traditional publishing. I think a lot of people have this crazy idea that you write a book and suddenly you become published.

      And thanks to ebooks, that’s kind of a reality—except if it’s that fast the success usually doesn’t accompany it.

What are your thoughts?

