The Booker Award Nomination

Being relatively new to this blogging thing I didn’t really understand this whole nomination business when I got my first nomination for the One Lovely Blog award via my friend Daphne a few months ago (sorry Daphne!).  Now that I’m getting it, I’d like to thank the always fun Chelsea for nominating me for the Booker Award today.

Along with being nominated, the nominee is to list their top 5 favorite books.  I hate to play favorites, but I think I can manage to list 5 books that have had a significant impact on me.

  1. A Wrinkle in Time  I’ve probably read this book a dozen or more times.  I love Madeleine L’Engle for not only creating a fantastic world for me to visit as a kid, but being that shining example of a great woman author for me to look up to.
  2. 1984  This book still lives vividly in my mind today.  I first read it in high school and it changed the way I thought about the world.  It’s a sobering thought to think there are people who have lived and are living under this kind of tyranny.
  3. Mere Christianity  I’ve always been a fan of C.S. Lewis with the Chronicles of Narnia, but this book changed the way I myself, God, and Christianity.  It’s both thrilling and mind boggling to pore over Lewis’s words and experience his intellectualism.  I also found it fascinating that he began as an atheist and ended up where he did.
  4. Atlas Shrugged  I thought 1984 scared the jujubes out of me, and then I made it through the brick that is Ayn Rand’s classic.  This changed my whole perspective on the world again.  It shifted my views on politics as well.
  5. Savvy  I read this book more recently, and as much as I loathed first person perspective told stories, this book was like magic—literally and figuratively.  It reminded me why we so desperately struggle to tell our stories in the first place.  And it has super powers.  Who doesn’t love super powers?

As I said it’s hard to play favorites.  There are loads more I could list, but these I felt were the most impactful—at least at the present.

Participation in the Booker Award means adhering to the following rules:

  1. Nominate 5-10 bloggers and let your recipients know.
  2. Post The Booker Award picture.
  3. Share your top 5 books of all time.

So I’ll now include my nominees:

http://descentintoslushland.wordpress.com/
http://beatbox32.wordpress.com/
http://writerlaurenclaire.wordpress.com/
http://joannakrutywriting.wordpress.com/
http://mysticcooking.wordpress.com/

Congratulations to my nominees.  I have no idea what you’ll win if you win and when you’ll win, but hey, if you do win, let us know. 😉  More importantly, I’ll be looking forward to reading what 5 books you post as your favorites.

And I have to note here at the end, again, there are too many books to list to really just pick five.  But since I saw this video the other day, and since I really loved taking part in the phenomenon that was this series, I have to mention Harry Potter.  Thank you J.K. Rowling for proving that not only are kids still interested in reading, but that there’s never any genre that’s dead as long as you bring something fresh and creative with your story.

 

10 thoughts on “The Booker Award Nomination

  1. JAE, thank you so much for the nomination. I wanted to write my post today but my computer and the dorm internet have other ideas for me. I did see your nomination and your comments. I did attempt to reply to both of them on Friday but apparently I need to go to McDonald’s to do anything important that requires internet. Thanks again! I will reply when I can.

  2. Congrats! And if I had a nickel for each reading of ‘Wrinkle’ from childhood thru today (yes, I still read my tattered fave love), I’d be able to afford to tesser endlessly w/out worrying about missing work. Sigh! (well, if I could tesser, of course 😉 )

  3. Thanks for the nomination Jae! I’m working on a post for this, but I like your #3 and #4 picks. Big C.S. Lewis fan and Ayn Rand certainly had me thinking a lot as well.

What are your thoughts?

