Update

I’m currently preparing for the Backspace Writer’s Conference in May.  My book is all finished and edited, but I’m reworking my first chapter and my query letter since that’s what the agents at the conference will be looking at.

I’m also learning to type with two fingers athletic taped together, since I jammed my finger a bit ago, lol.  You should try it for fun sometime.  It certainly makes things interesting and you find out quickly which letters you use with those fingers. Haha!

And when I have time I work on polishing up Book 2.

How are you doing on your writing goals?  Do you have a certain amount of words you try to hit every day?  How do you find time to squeeze it all in?  Let me know below.

7 thoughts on “Update

  1. Last few weeks, have been busy setting up blog, and learning how to use Twitter, have had almost no time to work on my book. Hope to get back soon….

    PS I think I’ve already said it, but love your background! Where did you get it from?

    • Ah, yes, I should probably post something about it on here. I call it SHADE, a YA fantasy novel. In it I tell the story of a teenager whose parents won’t allow him to show emotions, he can’t use names, he’s never even left his home once in his life. When he’s torn from his home and thrown in the midst of strangers, he realizes how different his life has been. But especially he realizes the dark power he holds inside must remain a secret at all costs. Knowing his family hunts him, he must decide. Does he embrace his newly found freedom and friends, hoping they never discover his secret, but all the while knowing it puts them in danger? Or does he return to a cold, disconnected existence?

      That’s a summary anyway. Angels only make a very brief appearance in this first book. The teenager’s family is connected to demons, which is where his dark power comes in. I’m part polishing the first book, part polishing the second book. Technically I have the third half written, but I’ve changed things up enough in the first two I’ll have to revamp it, so I’ve put it on pause while I work on preparing for this conference.

      • Ha, I knew I asked this question! I just had to find it. Anyway, if you’d like another set of eyes to read your query, book, or both, I’d like to throw my name in the hat. If you go to my blog you will find an e-mail address under the contact tab on the right hand side. If you’ve got the time, maybe we could swap something. I’m always willing to help, and I’ve been impressed with what you’ve posted so far. Just something to think about.

        The funny thing is you have a male protagonist and I have a female one! Weird, huh? 🙂

        • Certainly, although right now I’m still trying to figure out how to apply what I learned at the conference to my first chapter. I hesitate having anyone read it yet because I want fresh eyes. But yeah, let’s definitely do the switch-a-roo. I think I’ll try and work on it this weekend, and maybe have something presentable. I like doing a chapter at a time for beta reads. I know I need to put my email somewhere on here too. *sigh* So much to do…

          As for our protagonists, they say don’t write yourself, and I think we’ve accomplished that. 😉

What are your thoughts?

